Software Update not working

Discussion in 'macOS' started by markfc, Feb 6, 2008.

  1. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #1
    Is there a way to clear or reset software update?

    If I run iPhoto or iWeb, it tells me there are software updates available (which there are) and opens up software update for me.

    Trouble is software update doesn't find them and tells me no updates available.

    Thanks
     
  2. PYR0M310N macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #2
    Did you install the Russian update for Photo Booth as this can cause software update not to work properly. You would of only really done this if you had a PPC G5 i believe, because there was an issue with the pop art one only showing yellow.
     
  3. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
    maybe theres a fault on Apple's end on the server you use. try again later or download them from Apple's support pages. thats why they have a whole software update section.
     
  4. markfc thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #4
    Hi. No I didn't install the russian update, plus I'm using Intel iMac...sorry should have said!!

    Thanks
     
  5. markfc thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #5
    Ahh right okay, I've sorted it now.

    I moved my iLife applications into a Folder under applications called iLife so that I could have an iLife stack.

    Software update only looks in the applications folder for them.

    So I guess i have to lose my iLife stack....

    pah.
     
  6. darwinian macrumors 6502a

    darwinian

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    In R4, more or less
    #6
    Yes, some (if not all) Apple apps should be placed in their default folders. I believe iWork requires this as well, and funny things always happen on my system because I generally move a lot of the less useful Apple apps to the Utilities folder.
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    You can put an ALIAS of the iLife folder into where you put that folder.

    To make alias, use menus, right click, or COMMAND-L
     

Share This Page