Software update out of the box?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by UKFan643, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. UKFan643 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #1
    Just received my iPhone 7. I've gotten launch day models every year for the last 5 and this is the first time it's making me do a software update right out of the box. Is ths normal this year?
     
  2. double329 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #2
    What is normal now a day? My 7+ also has update to 10.0.1. I don't see anything wrong with that? I have noticed many manufactures are doing that these days. I am not too worry about it.

    I think, it might be a fix that people got the phone brick when the 10 was first released on day 1.
     
  3. edlex macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #3
    Remember they put out the 10.0.1 update after the phones were made.
     
  4. UKFan643 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #4
    I'm not sure that's true. 10.0.1 was the GM. People on the beta had that last week.

    Not complaining, just making sure mine wasn't the only one. Again, it's never happened before so I was confused.
     
  5. midkay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    #5
    Your phone was likely built before last week, though.
     
  6. SCOTTGAZ9 macrumors regular

    SCOTTGAZ9

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Location:
    Glasgow,Scotland
    #6
    Likewise had to update...it was suppose to ship with the update installed.
     
  7. Nozuka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    #7
    I have to warn you: It's going to get more updates over the years ;)
     
  8. iPhone1 macrumors 65816

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    There is a new iOS build for T-Mobile models due to reception issues. Do you have T-Mobile?
     
  9. UKFan643 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #9
    Nope. Verizon. And I think the t-mobile problem was fixed with a carrier settings update. Couldn't be a software problem since it was only one carrier.
     
  10. SumYoungGai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #10
    my understanding is that it's just a carrier update from 25.1 to 25.2.
     
  11. wacky4alanis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #11
    Mine also came with 10.0 - had to update to 10.0.1. Luckily it accepted my 10.0.1 backup from my old phone, because I did that first. Then I did the software update.
     
  12. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #12
    Who cares if an update is available "right out of the box"? Why all the hand-wringing? Just hit the button to install the update, and then get busy living.

    Too many first world problems.
     
  13. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #14
    Had to do it too to be able to restore from backup.
     
  14. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68000

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #15
    Both of the ones I got today had 10.0.0 on them and needed an update to 10.0.1.
     
  15. UKFan643 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #16
    What hand wringing? I asked a question. Don't want to contribute? Cool. Just hit the back button and get busy living.
     
  16. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #17
    My point is why does it matter? Just push the button and move on. Why create a thread, along with the accompanying drama over something so banal?
     
  17. DDustiNN macrumors 65816

    DDustiNN

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #18
    This actually interfered with my iCloud Restore.

    It prompted me for iCloud Restore, I entered the info, then it said there was an update, so I installed the update... After it was done and the phone restarted, it took me through the rest of the setup process (Apple Pay, Home Button, etc). Then when it was done, I was sitting on the home screen of a brand new iOS 10. Wtf?

    So I had to completely reset the phone and start all over. Now the restore is going as we speak.
     
  18. EJ8 macrumors 6502a

    EJ8

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #19
    Exact same thing happened to me. Could be very confusing for people that aren't as aware of how to fix this issue. You have to go into settings and completely erase and reset your brand new phone to get it to restore from iCloud backup. Then of course you have to go through the entire setup for a second time - logins, settings, Touch ID, iCloud login, etc.
     
  19. Calbear88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #20
    I'm due to receive my new iPhone 7 later today. To clarify, if I'm running iOS 10.0.1 currently I won't be able to restore my new iPhone 7 from iCloud because it's loaded with 10.0.0 ?

    When I receive the phone, I should skip restoring from iCloud initially, set up the phone as a new phone, update to 10.0.1, then erase the phone, and then set it up by restoring from iCloud?

     
  20. UKFan643 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #21
    You're the only one here that seems worried about anything. Almost like you brought the drama with you. You need a better hobby.
     
  21. EJ8 macrumors 6502a

    EJ8

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #22
    Pretty much. That would work but if you ask it to restore from iCloud first it will just very shortly afterwards prompt you to upgrade to 10.0.1. Almost immediately. So it really doesn't matter if you try iCloud first. In fact you may just want to do it this way because I think then the phone sees that your backup is 10.0.1 and knows it needs to upgrade.
     

Share This Page