software update = resolution error?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by foulmouthedleon, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. foulmouthedleon macrumors regular

    foulmouthedleon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    #1
    Just downloaded the most recent software update and now my external monitor (1900 x 1280 resolution) won't go past 1400 x 900 unless I'm totally missing something. Any ideas?
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  3. foulmouthedleon thread starter macrumors regular

    foulmouthedleon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    #3
    I'm not sure if this was an "official" software update or not, but I remember looking and it said "Leopard graphics update" or something to that effect. Ever since I downloaded and installed it, my 24" external monitor won't go above 1400 x 900 (the same resolution as my 15" MBP screen).

    Unless I'm totally missing something here, I click on "displays" from system preferences and there isn't even an option for me to choose the 1920 x 1280 (or whatever the max resolution is) setting.

    Any ideas here at all folks? This is kind of frustrating...:mad:
     
  4. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #4
    Restart the computer without the DVI cable attached and attach it when the MBP has finished booting.
     

Share This Page