Software update takes AGES to check for updates

Discussion in 'macOS' started by matthewHUB, Aug 12, 2009.

1. matthewHUB macrumors 6502

Hi guys. I have a REV A MBA running 10.5.8. Since i got the machine, it takes forever to show available software. After clicking "software update" from the apple menu it sometimes takes 6 minutes to check if there's anything new. Is this normal?

M

2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

6 minutes seems more than a little long, it usually takes about 30 seconds on my MacBook.

3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

What type of connection do you have? Does it happen every time? For how long has it been happening? Mine can take up to about a minute to complete.

4. vohdoun macrumors 65816

vohdoun

Not only is mine slow at checking but it's slow as hell downloading.

This is the thing that puzzles me. It's widespread. It's happening with all 3 computers. My connection isn't throttled, nor does it have DNS issues.

I downloaded the latest security update through software update. It took 22 minutes. Downloading it through Safari took less than 2 minutes. What I can't work out is both Safari/any web browser and Software Update uses port 80. So how can it be crippled when web browsing is not... or any other downloading.

I tried another firmware on my router, it made no difference. I tried factory reseting the router, it made no difference. I'm really stumped and it's also because of this why all 3 machines take a while checking for updates. This is all running via Ethernet.

5. matthewHUB thread starter macrumors 6502

No it doesn't happen every time. but it's never checked in less than a minute. ONce it's downloading the speed is fine. But sometimes it just hangs with the bar half way along.

6. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt