Software updated in Activity Monitor

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by markeeinsik, Dec 14, 2015.

  1. markeeinsik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    #1
    I was just wondering if there is a fix or solution for this issue that i have. after i updated my MAC OS YOSEMITE 10.10.1 to 10.10.5, my MBA 2009 is a bit faster now and RAM management is good. my concern right now that is the softwareupdated process that is eating much of my memory, i don't have any pending updates anymore.

    can anybody enlighten me with this, as i am a newbie in the macworld. got this MBA as a second hand from a friend.

    thanks a lot.. i have a screenshot of my activity monitor
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    For a fix there are 4 possibilities that I can think of:
    1) Check to see that the App Store application is not running. Quit it if it is running.
    2) Open :apple:>System Preferences...>App Store and uncheck "Automatically check for updates".
    3) Restart your computer if you have not tried it recently.
    4) If necessary, "Force the process to quit" by single click the softwareupdate process to select it, the button with an X in the upper left of the Activity Monitor will become available, click it to force the softwareupdate process to quit.

    The softwareupdate process checks for new and updated versions of your software based on information about your computer and current software.
     
  3. markeeinsik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    #3

    thank you for your reply.. i did restart my MBA and the softwareupdate was down to 50MB. i was just wondering if i can still reduce the RAM usage of other apps/processes aside from the ones that I'm using.

    like the window server and the likes.
     
  4. markeeinsik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    #4
    here is a shot of my mac.. it was better now and my mac isn't heating up much as to before. fans starts to make noise when it reaches 1.5GB. is this normal or can i still improve this?

    thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #5
    With software update disabled Mac won't automatically install newest malware definitions. You might want to turn it on occasionally for that reason.

    Alternatively you can use Terminal with this command: sudo softwareupdate --background-critical
    You can find further instructions in Terminal with: man softwareupdate

    I usually prefer using System Preferences but in this case Apple has provided it with very spartan choices... :mad:

    Screenshot shows Flash which is using quite a lot of RAM which your Mac has very little to spare. If you don't need it I advice uninstalling it.
     
  6. imorton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #6
    I wasn't aware that my basic Yosemite install would be downloading the NEWEST MALWARE DEFINITIONS...? Is this part of Yosemite or some 3rd party program...?


    My "softwareupdated" process is consuming 500MB of Ram (I have 8GB's) so I would also like to "uncheck" the Automatically Check for Updates in the App Store (system preferences), however I don't want to miss any vital updates. I am sure that I will read about any crucial updates through forums etc....

    Thanks, IAN.
     
  7. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #7
    Apple periodically updates OS X to recognise malware, if the definitions are not current newest forms of malware aren't recognised by the OS. If you leave the checkbox unchecked use the Terminal command I provided in post #5 occasionally to update definitions.
     
  8. markeeinsik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    #8
    i know this is off topic.. but is there anyway to boost the boot up time of my MBA under YOSEMITE 10.10.5.. is this the last and final update for yosemite?
     

Share This Page