Sold 3GS - 4.0 to 3.1.3 Question

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by hexonxonx, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #1
    I am now 99% sure that my first mistake was upgrading to 4.0 a few days before Pwnage was released. Obviously, I can't restore to a custom firmware made by Pwnage, I just get the spinning wheel in iTunes and then it gives some error.

    I have downgraded to 3.1.3 and Jailbroken but the buyer also wants it unlocked. I am correct that because I upgraded to 4.0 and the BR was upgraded that I can now not unlock this phone running 3.1.3?

    Thanks

    I got a feeling I have to refund some money in the morning.
     
  2. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #2
    you should be able to unlock with ultrasn0w from cydia.

    BR=BootRom? This is not upgraded...the baseband is. Ultrasn0w is updated to work with the 4.0 BB
     
  3. hexonxonx thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #3
    Ok, I downgraded to 3.1.2, ran BlackRa1n, installed Sn0w from Blackra1n and there were no errors. Since, I ran Sn0w, can I be sure this is unlocked for my buyer?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  4. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #4
    No, that is Blacksn0w, not ultrasn0w. Your phone is not unlocked.
    You didn't need to downgrade to 3.1.2...The Baseband which governs the unlock cannot be downgraded.
    You must use Ultrasn0w 0.93
     
  5. hexonxonx thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #5
    Ok, I understand, thanks again.
     
  6. cdphone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #6
    Sorry hexonxonx, I don't mean to hijack this thread. I'm in a similar situation as you. How did you manage to downgrade to 3.1.3? Did you have SHSH saved?
     
  7. hexonxonx thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #7
    Yes, that is how I did it. Also, because I had upgraded from 4.0, in order to downgrade, I had to use RecBoot to kick it out of recovery after I downgraded.
     

Share This Page