Sold MacBook. Need to restore

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Jnardis, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. Jnardis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #1
    I recently sold my MacBook and wanted to restore the computer to new. I barely have any files on it since I rarely used it. To be safe I would like to restore it to factory just like when I bought it on the first day. Is there a way to do this?
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Reformat the hard drive and reinstall the OS that it came with.

    Start up your mac with the OS X disk inserted, run Disk Utility and format the drive. Upon completion reinstall the software it came with.

    Edit*

    • 1. To erase the primary drive, insert the OS X installer disk.
      2. Reboot the computer. It will ask for your administrator user name and password.
      3. Select you language.
      4. From the menu select Utilities > Disk Utility.
      5. Select the disk you want to erase and click Erase.
      6. Specify a volume format and name for the disk.
      7. Click Security Options and select your formatting option.
      8. Click OK.
      9. Click Erase.
     
  3. Jnardis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #3
    Thanks. I was running tiger and just updated to snow leaopard. I assume I have to start again with Tiger (and follow your directions below) and then re-update to snow leaopard?
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Nope you should be able to use the SL disk and install from that.

    Just to note; you will need to give the disk to the new owner as the license is installed on that mac, thus cannot be used on another ;)
     
  5. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    Nope. Just skip the Tiger part. Just boot from the Snow Leopard disc to format and reinstall.
     
  6. Jnardis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #6
    OK even though it was the updated CD and not the box set? I didn't see any other options when I updated the first time. I inserted the CD and downloaded.
     

Share This Page