Solidworks on MBA ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Gilado, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. Gilado macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a 4 GB i5 2012 13'' MBA , and I need to install solidworks on my mac for study for this semester.

    The thing is that its only for windows :(

    how can I install it on my MBA ?
    what will be the best and easy way to do so ?

    Thank you.
     
  2. luisito macrumors regular

    luisito

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #2
    I use SolidWorks, CATIA and Simulia, all by Dassault Systems. The only way is to have bootcamp, since a virtual computer would create so much lag specially with 4GB of RAM.

    I also use AutoCAD & Simulation Mechanica by Autodesk. As well as MatLAB by MathWorks.

    Based on my experience, you need Windows & bootcamp. The only feasible solution.
     
  3. cbautis2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #3
    No lag or slowdown whatsoever here using autocad, solidworks, Comsol plus Metro apps/games on Windows Server 2012 R2 VMware Fusion on my 2011 MBA 13: i5 1.6 GHz/ 4 GB RAM/ 128 GB SSD. I only do very basic designs and simulations required for the class so nothing that the 2011 MBA can't handle.
     
  4. m98custom1212 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    #4
    I use NX and Inventor.. Worked fine for basic designs after ~4ish parts with decent amount of features software was unusable.

    I have an S7 now and using a more complex assembly (over 100 parts) I have no problems. I don't know but it works.

    Driver related maybe I'm not sure.
     
  5. Gilado thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    #5
    with VMware Fusion or parallels do I need to install windows or it comes with it ?
     
  6. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #6
    You need to install Windows.
     

Share This Page