Solidworks!!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by stewartlittle, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. stewartlittle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #1
    Hey Everyone, i have done a search, and have yet to find a solid answer. So first of all. Has anyone here used, or currently uses solidworks on a macbook pro. I am moving to australia for a year, and i need to either buy a macbook pro or something else, so i can still design full time over there. I was curious, what specs are recommended for this. Id like to get the 15" for mobility. But other than that, what do u use and how well does it work. The stuff i do is basically designing in solids, then rendering. I dont have large assemblies, but i do have large parts....sometimes... anyways, any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    If you haven't tried it, you should check out searching the forums with Google. As you can see, it produces great results on your issue.
     
  3. stewartlittle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #3
    Actually I have read in depth through google and such. I always do that before I post anything in any forum. The reason I am bringing up the topic here is because I respect the opinions of MacRumors alot. I find that the people here are more personable so I can ask more direct questions. I figured that with starting a thread, i would keep it general at first. But thanks for the links. I have looked at them previously
     
  4. nanvinnie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #4
    I have solidworks, but I use it in bootcamp or through my vm. the only thing i know that eds makes for mac is edrawings. I don't think that there is a native osx version of solidworks.
     
  5. nanvinnie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #5
    btw... i have a 15" SR 2.4 mbp 2gb ram and solidworks runs very well in bootcamp and fairly smoothly through my vm (fusion). cheers!
     
  6. stewartlittle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #6
    Thanks nanvinnie, What type of work do you do with solidworks? I am also thinking that bootcamp is the way to go... i would have solidworks there, maybe photoshop and illustrator.... so all my work stuff is in one place.
     
  7. nanvinnie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #7
    No worries Stewart. I basically run my work/school related software on Bootcamp (Solidworks and Matlab) and CS3 on OSX. I'm currently a grad student working to get my degree in aerospace engineering and I also work as a project engineer (full time work, part time student). Sometimes it does get a little confusing when running all my apps at once, but when I do simple parts and assemblies in Solidworks, I just run it off of VMware Fusion...even Matlab. When I do have to do more complicated assemblies I just boot straight to windows and it's been working out great for me.

    Good luck on all your endeavors!
     
  8. stewartlittle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #8
    Thanks alot!! I am stoked to become a mac owner. I used to be against the idea of a macbook pro for pc based stuff, but my gf bought a mb and i fell in love with it. so now i just need to get a mbp (once they update) and wait till i get to australia to get an unlocked iphone, and i should be sitting pretty
     
  9. Mojomichael macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #9
    SolidWorks on Fusion and Bootcamp

    I have not been able to run SW2008 on both. If I get it set up in BootCamp, I have to reactivate it if I want to run in Fusion. Is there some way to make the launching of SW seamless in both environments?
     
  10. stewartlittle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #10
    Hi Everyone, so I have used my HP 8530W for 6 months, ran SW flawlessly, but now I dont need SW on a every day basis, and to be honest, I think its time to switch to a mbp. I am just curious though, has anyone been able to run SW 2009 smoothly on the new unibody macs. If so, please let me know you setup and so on. Thanks in advance.
     
  11. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #11
    There's not. A native version has been rumored for years now, but hasn't appeared yet.
     
  12. yezza macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #12
    I can't give you any advice regarding Solidworks on the Macbook Pro, but I can tell you that it runs pretty sweet on my 2008 Mac Pro. I'm using SW2009 and can run natively in Windows 7 or via a Fusion VM within the Mac OS.

    I've only got an Nvidia 8800GT display card (not a pro card) but everything still runs really well. I use it for design of fairly large assemblies (mechanical machines comprising 1000+ parts), basic animations and large renderings. This machine is not my main workstation, so my milage on it is not huge. However, it's been great having all eight cores for rendering animations and stills.
     
  13. stewartlittle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #13
    Yea, I don't have very large assemblies, at most 100 parts, usually I build parts with multiple bodies, and that bogs it down, and intensive renderings as well. But on that note, this will be my home computer, not my every day, CAD computer. Truth is, I have an Elitebook 8530W, that works amazing, but I need something new, eventhough its only 6 months old. So if I sell that, then I will just get a mac for net and sporatic design work.
     

Share This Page