SOLVED: Can you load bootcamp partition with parallels?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by zrbecker, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. zrbecker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #1
    I read somewhere that you can load your bootcamp partition with Parallels but I can't seem to find that information anymore.

    Can you do this? and if so... How?

    Thanks!
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    When you start up Parallels, your bootcamp partition should appear.
     
  3. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    I don't know but why do you want to ?

    I mean bootcamp is much better than any virtualization.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Yes very much possible, for me it appears in the OS selector box on startup.

    Because then you have the best of both worlds without having to maintain two copies of windows, have twice as much harddrive space taken up and also keep them both in sync.
     
  5. zrbecker thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #5
    It isn't showing up anywhere when I start Parallels, just the parallels welcome screen. =(

    The reason I want to use parallels also is there is a few applications that don't take much resources that I would like to be able to access without a restart. Though, if I want to play games I just boot into boot camp.
     
  6. zrbecker thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #6
    Ah, found how to set it up.

    For anyone else load up Parallels then go to Help

    Search for "Creating a Virtual Machine for the Boot Camp Partition"

    and then do what it says. =)
     
  7. spaceboots06 macrumors 6502a

    spaceboots06

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    The Rotten Apple
    #7
    It is but when you want to use something that is only available in Windows it comes in handy.
     

Share This Page