[solved] Help! Mac Pro 5.1 + GTX980

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by KLWN, Apr 24, 2015.

  1. KLWN, Apr 24, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2015

    KLWN macrumors member

    KLWN

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #1
    Hi guys,

    im running a Mac Pro 5.1 with latest Yosemite 10.10.3. Before the 980 I had 2x 680GTX installed with latest Nvidia Web Drivers and everything was running smooth without any issues. Today I switched to a GTX 980, see product link and unfortunately I get a black screen after booting and Yosemite won't start :(

    Running Windows 7 via bootcamp is working fine.

    Any advises on how to fix it? Is it a driver issue?


    thank you guys!
    Alex
     
  2. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    Hi. There is another thread here related to your problem and thanks to MacVidcards who provided a solution
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1868112
     
  3. KLWN thread starter macrumors member

    KLWN

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #3
    Thanks for the info, I followed the solution, but im a bit confused.

    I was able to boot into my MacPro Yosemite SSD (hooked it up to my MBP via USB). Currently im on 10.10.3 14D136. My installed NVIDIA Web Driver is 346.01.02f02.

    Do I need to modify the build version via kext dev mode as mentioned by MacVidCards?
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    That fix was for before the 14D136 driver got released, it's out now.

    What type of display and how are you connecting?

    If you have web driver loaded it should be working.
     
  5. KLWN thread starter macrumors member

    KLWN

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
  6. KLWN, Apr 25, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2015

    KLWN thread starter macrumors member

    KLWN

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #6
    today I will try re-installing the Nvidia driver. Another option would be trying to boot from a different SSD with Yosemite 10.10.2 installed.

    UPDATE: I made a huge error in reasoning. Deleted the driver and now my MBP is not compatible to install the driver as no Nvidia Card is installed :( OMG

    Now im screwed i guess. Is there any way to install the Nvidia Web Driver without a Nvidia Card installed?
     
  7. MentalVizion macrumors regular

    MentalVizion

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Austria
    #7
    Do you have any "official apple cards" such as the GT120 or Radeon HD 5770?
    You should be able to boot into your OS with them and install the driver again I guess.
     
  8. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    An ancient ATI 2600 HD Mac will do the trick too!

    Cheers
     
  9. MentalVizion macrumors regular

    MentalVizion

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Austria
    #9
    Yea, any official Apple card really, as they already have drivers implemented into the OS.

    Do you still have your 680's? I imagine they could work aswell, as there is an official EVGA/Apple version, so I guess they work out of the box aswell. (As long as you atleast have Mountain Lion installed - but you seem to have Yosemite, so..)
     
  10. KLWN thread starter macrumors member

    KLWN

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #10
    I already sold both 680s. I only have the 980 available, sadly :/

    After a quick google search I found out about this whole "driver modifiing" thing, anyway, I successfully modified the drivers, was able to install and in the end I had two SSD`s available for testing:

    SSD#1: Yosemite 10.10.2 (14C1514) + NVIDIA Web-Drv. 343.02.02f04
    SSD#2: Yosemite 10.10.3 (14D136) + NVIDIA Web-Drv. 346.01.02f02

    On both systems I made sure Nvidia Driver is used instead of OS X default driver, switched the drives into my MacPro, rebooted, but no luck me for, screen stays black :(
     
  11. MentalVizion macrumors regular

    MentalVizion

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Austria
    #11
    This may be a stupid question, but you do realize you won't get a bootscreen with an unflashed card. So wait for, I don't know, 2 minutes to make sure it REALLY does stay black.
     
  12. KLWN thread starter macrumors member

    KLWN

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #12
    thanks for the hint, yes the card is non-EFI, I waited for several minutes, but screen stays black.

    Next I try connecting the MacPro to my TV via HDMI, maybe the DVI connection is the issue, on the other hand, booting into Windows 7 works fine (via DVI).
     
  13. MentalVizion macrumors regular

    MentalVizion

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Austria
    #13
    Maybe the mac is stuck somewhere while booting (why ever) and thus won't output any signal yet because of the EFI-lack on the card.

    We know the card is fine since you are able to boot into windows.
     
  14. KLWN thread starter macrumors member

    KLWN

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #14
    is there a way to find out if the mac is stuck somewhere?
     
  15. MentalVizion macrumors regular

    MentalVizion

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Austria
    #15
    Well, that's where an original apple card comes in handy. As it would display any kernel panics etc.
    Have you tried booting in safe mode already?

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201262
     
  16. KLWN thread starter macrumors member

    KLWN

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #16
    finally it works :)

    I was able to screen-share my MacPro, it turned out that everytime I was booting into Yosemite the Nvidia App changed the driver to OS X default. While screen-sharing I was able to change it to Nvidia driver, rebooted and now it runs flawless :D :D
     
  17. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #17
    The problem you had was not realizing that the setting of "turn NVIDIA driver on" is kept in the NVRAM of a machine, not on the HD.

    So turning it on when connected to a different machine has no effect whatsoever.

    It is saved as a boot arg that is read from NVRAM at boot. If you used any other card to boot you could turn it on.

    Also keep in mind that doing a PRAM reset or install of Trim Enabler will also turn it off. I don't use TE but I know in past it just overwrote any boot args, maybe he has fixed it.
     
  18. MentalVizion macrumors regular

    MentalVizion

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Austria
    #18
    Glad you were able to fix it in the end! ;)
     

Share This Page