[SOLVED] window management problems since upgrade to SL

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rafleo, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. rafleo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #1
    Hey there,

    I upgraded my 10.5 installation to SL the day it came out, so that I kept all my settings and files.
    The problem I'm having since is very very annoying, and I can't seem to get rid of it. I searched the whole Internet (or so it seems) and haven't found anything about it.

    The problem is:
    When I have an open window, let's say Firefox, and I bring to front another one (let's say Adium) or launch an app, the new window hides the previously open one.
    For example: I have Firefox open, I click on Adium in my Dock: The Adium window is brought to the foreground, but the Firefox window is gone (hidden).

    This is really annoying when I try to copy files, drag'n'drop stuff or copy from another window.

    The weird part of it is, it's only since I have SL, it was never here before.
    I've got all updates installed.

    Do you guys have any ideas? Cheers!
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    I don't know why you haven't gotten a reply. Perhaps bumping this up will help. It sounds like a new thing in Snow Leopard (I haven't upgraded yet) but I'm not reading other complaints, so maybe it's something specific to your Mac, and can be fixed. Good luck!
     
  3. rafleo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #3
    Yeah, it's definatelz linked to my mac only, as a fresh install from the same disk did not show that problem. But I don't want to lose all my settings etc. so I do not want to do a fresh install.

    The problem seems really to be in the window management. It for example also occurs with Exposé, where only the current active window will be shown, not all open windows as it should. :confused:
     
  4. mrchinchilla macrumors 6502

    mrchinchilla

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #4
    That sounds like Single-Application mode. Try:
    Code:
    defaults delete com.apple.dock single-app
    And then:
    Code:
    killall Dock
    It may work, or you may have another problem. This won't do any harm so it's worth a shot.
     
  5. rafleo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #5
    :cool: Wow, thanks, this finally solved my problem!


    Kind of weird though that my upgrade (or probably some app) did active this Single-App mode. I have never heard of it before...
     

Share This Page