some antivirus advice please...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cane creek, Feb 9, 2008.

1. cane creek macrumors member

My new mac pro 8 core will arrive this monday it will be my first mac and i have never used one before.

will i need Antivirus software ?

if so which do you advise ?

will i need a firewall ? ill be using wireless.

2. mojopixel macrumors 6502

mojopixel

3. bartelby macrumors Core

No anti virus is needed. Just common sense.
    OS X's own firewall will be fine.
    In 10 years of having a Mac connected to the internet (with a firewall for 5 years) I've never had any problems.

4. Much Ado macrumors 68000

Much Ado

This gets asked a lot around here.

Basically, all that anti-virus software will do right now is slow down your system. Macs aren't bullet-proof, but right now there are no viruses for them.

Some people say get 'ClamXav' as a free, light-weight virus checker, but honestly you'll be fine without.

Enjoy the Mac Pro! :)

5. ::Lisa:: macrumors 6502a

::Lisa::

Another one without virus protection. I just use my OS X firewall also.
    Oh and common sense lol

6. student_trap macrumors 68000

student_trap

i know it can sound weird coming from windows, but you really dont need it. I hav been running osx for years now without antivirus softwre, on a broadband connection, with NO problems!:)

7. Soop53 macrumors regular

Soop53

I have a 1999 PB g3 that has been faithful for all those years with no know viruses on it...can say the same for my dead self-built PC with major costly virus protection on it and very sick from being infected...go figure!

Anyway, I remember an old freeware program that I use to use for a safety net called Disinfectant. Is it still in use?

8. Brianna macrumors regular

I've been using OSX since it was a Public Beta sold by Apple, and I've never ran Virus software, and never had any Viri or problems. Even before the built in Apple firewall.