Some Applications not starting

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AnonymousJoe, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. AnonymousJoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #1
    I recently downloaded some shareware programs, which may not have been the brightest idea but i needed the software they provided. When I click on them, the icon bounces up and down, and the little black arrow indicates it is going to start up, but then it just... doesn't.

    I am, for the most part, completely ignorant to how these systems work, and I hope that people here can help.

    Edit* I did in fact open the disk images provided and drag the programs into the correct applications folder.
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    What applications? What operating system version are you running? I'm assuming you're on Tiger here, since you mention little black arrows.
     
  3. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #3
    They might not be for your OS version, or you might need to repair your permissions through disk utility.
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Mac OS programs?

    They could be old PPC programs, or even older Mac OS 8-9 programs which need Classic to run (which means Intel machines need some help).
     
  5. AnonymousJoe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #5
    I am running tiger, and the programs are things like: aMule (I made sure to get a version compatable with tiger) and a program called Noteburner which was supposed to help convert music file types. There were others I deleted out of sheer frustration and i cant recall their names.

    Is it possible to get classic for my mac? It doesn't have it.
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    That depends if your computer is PowerPC (G4, G5) or Intel (Core Duo, Core 2 Duo). If you're running a PowerPC Mac, you should be able to install the Classic environment from your computer's install disks. Intel Macs can't run Classic.
     

Share This Page