Some Basic Questions.

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by fivetoadsloth, Aug 18, 2007.

1. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

fivetoadsloth

A friend of our family's asked me to make a site for his business. He realizes I am no pro but offered me the opportunity, and depending on what I will come up with he will than hire a professional. I do know some html/css but my idea was to make a very basic site in iWeb export to folder and than edit the source to make some rather large adjustments. I would rather not spend any money on this so investing in more sophisticated software is out of the question. I realize I will get many "Why not just let a web designer do it?" But if nothing else this will be a learning experience. MY question to you is:

Would this system even work?

What makes a site look "professional"?

Any other tips at all?

Thanks in advance.

2. ppc_michael Guest

ppc_michael

Would this system even work?
    In theory, but I don't think it's a good idea. Have you looked at HTML generated by iWeb before? It's pretty crazy. It would make editing harder than just starting from scratch. Additionally, iWeb turns some formatted text into images, which would be hard to keep track of manually.

What makes a site look "professional"?
    Experience and knowledge. I can't answer that question directly, but basically, pick a font and stick with it, don't use crazy colors, animated GIFs are bad, and so is intrusive use of Javascript. Best thing would be to look around at some existing sites you think are professional, analyze them and maybe be inspired by them. (but don't copy, that's the least professional of all)

Any other tips at all?
    Keep browser compatibility high in your priorities. When I'm working on a site, I have it open in Safari, Mozilla, and Opera, as well as *gasp* Internet Explorer 6 (running in Parallels). Always check your site in at least those browsers before you consider it finished.