some enlightenment please

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by UncleheFTy, Aug 19, 2012.

  1. UncleheFTy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Cheshire
    #1
    I keep getting messages like this:
    "The name of your computer “‫Your MacBook Pro (1000)‎‬” is already in use on this network. The name has been changed to “‫Your MacBook Pro (1016)‎‬”.

    Can anyone tell me why and if it can be stopped?

    Ta
     
  2. Yuke macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #2
    You get that message when there's more than one identically-named Mac on your local network.

    It's getting the name from System Prefs -> Sharing. You can change the name there to anything you'd like.

    If you change it to something unique, you /shouldn't/ see that message anymore.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    I got those errors when my Mac Mini was the Mac on my network (named mini).
     

Share This Page