Some feedback on a site I'm making?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by mark!, Oct 15, 2013.

1. mark! macrumors 65816

mark!

Hey guys,

I am in my senior year of college and currently making an online portfolio! I am majoring in something called Informatics (basically Computer Science, but more design-y) with a minor in Communication and Culture. My desired career path is an HCI Designer, UX Designer, or (less so) a Graphic Designer.

I wanted some feedback on what I have so far, which right now is just a simple site. The left is all navigation, and the right side where it says "under construction" is where all of my digital and print work will be. My work/content will show downsized previews that are sort of mosaically tiled.

What do you guys think? Is it unprofessional? Is it too simple? Let me know your uninhibited thoughts :D

http://iledan.me/

PS. try clicking the ILEDAN logo and the color palette underneath the social media icons :)

2. Dulcimer macrumors 6502a

Dulcimer

It's certainly very minimalist. The navigation is kind of small. Maybe it just seems that way due to a lack of any content yet.

Your hidden logo/colour changes are cool, and work on the iPad, but I don't understand the point. Do you have to click on the logo (again I'm on my iPad) to see the colour change? If so, doesn't that contradict common website design practice where the logo returns the user to the home page?

Also, clicking the "Work" link changes the placement of the other links.

Those are my comments and complaints. Not half bad, but has ways to go in terms of UX.

3. mark! thread starter macrumors 65816

mark!

As for the navigation being small, are you speaking of the font size? Are you suggesting that I space the links enough for the collapsable link to not interfere with the links below moving?