Some harddrive issues (tell me if there are any flaws in my plan)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Shevlock, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. Shevlock macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #1
    I got a regular macbook last september from school. Since I am transferring schools, I have to return the laptop to them since it was only "leased" to me. (Don't worry, I didn't pay for the laptop nor anything else at that school haha).

    Now I'm going to get a macbok pro, but I want to upgrade the hd with this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16822145160

    Next, I'm going to get this enclosure: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16817348022 If there is a different enclosure that you guys have experience with and reccommend, by all means do so.

    My plan is to use the free version of SuperDuper to clone the old MB's HD to the hitachi drive and usb external enclosure, then install the hitachi drive in the new MBP. Do I need to format the hitachi drive with some special apple formating, or will SuperDuper do that for me? (The macbook was my first mac, and won me over with its ability to not play games ;) )

    Next, I will sell the new 120 gig hd that came with the MBP to one of my former classmates to install in his MB, to recoup some of the cost.

    Now, will there be any hardware issues with the new HD, since it will be a clone of the MB and not the MBP, such as processor/ram/other recognization?

    I am also thinking about getting a 2 gig ram stick for the MBP, and selling the one of the 1 gig's that comes with it (along with the other 1 gig I had bought for the MB). I didn't notice any performance decrease in not running paired chips in the MB, but what am I losing out on by not doing so?

    Thanks a lot in advance
     
  2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #2
    The only flaw in your plan is that swapping the hard drive means ripping the brand new $2000 computer apart, voiding the warranty, and possibly breaking the machine. the hard drive in the MBP is not user replaceable.

    P.S. I didn't even look at the specs, but I did something similar to that with my G4 mac mini and it worked (and still is working) fine.
     
  3. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    techinically it only voids the warranty if you break something doing it, its not that hard to replace it you just have to not be afraid to pry the keyboard up with a good deal of force, then snap it back together with that same ammount of force, and you do need a T6 Torx driver, its pointless to start without it www.ifixit.com has a good turtorial
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    If you will have both machines together at any time, why not just use Firewire Target Disk Mode to bring over everything?
     
  5. Shevlock thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #5
    I could do that also, but since I am installing a new HD anyway, it does not change much, besides forcing me to reinstall and config applications and settings.
     
  6. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    i would reinstall just to have a freesh install of the OS
     
  7. Shevlock thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #7
    So will there be any hardware issues since I am effectively transplanting HD's between two machines with different hardware?
     

Share This Page