Some help and advice re upgrades to iMac 8.1

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by markoneswift, Jul 22, 2013.

1. markoneswift macrumors newbie

Hello everyone, I'm new here and I need to ask for some help with upgrading two iMac 8.1's at work. They a 2.8 Dual Cores with 500Gb drives, one is on OSX Leopard, the other on Snow Leopard. I'm an IT tech with 20 years' experience in a Windows environment but Mac OSX is still fairly new to me.

I need to bring these two machine into parallel with each other - same OS / app versions etc. What would my upgrade to Mountain Lion be ? Am I correct in thinking L > SL > ML and SL > ML ?

I'm thinking of upgrading the HDDs in these machines - can I take a 'clone' image of the machines as they are and then reimage back to a blank new HDD ( I'm thinking of SSD - any recommendations here ? ) and then upgrade the OS on each after the new drives / reimage. The machines are both on 4Gb of RAM - is there any benefit to taking these to 6Gb ?

Given the scenario of two machines with identical hardware spec but different software versions, could anyone recommend an upgrade path any better / different to what I've outlined here ? Sorry for all the questions but I'm leaving my job soon and I would like to wrap this one job up before I go.

Thanks all !

2. benwiggy macrumors 68020

Yes, you need to update to Snow Leopard, in order to access the Mac App Store, where you can buy Mountain Lion.

I would definitely max out the RAM to 6Gb. 10.8 uses as much RAM as is available, but more is always better. My 2009 MacBook has 6Gb, which makes running Creative Suite etc just a little bit easier than with 4.

Yes, you can use Disk Utility to make an image of the drive and restore it onto a new SSD. (You'll need to do this while booted to the installer disk or other volume, of course.) You can also use CarbonCopyCloner, a third-party utility.