some help with RAM installation

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 400mangos, May 11, 2011.

  1. 400mangos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #1
    so i ordered an 8GB (2x4GB) kit from crucial for my 27in iMac, got them in there, and when i tried to boot up it wouldnt- just continued beeping in 3 beep increments. i looked up what that meant, which supposedly means that there are no good banks correct?

    so i tried it again to see if maybe i installed it wrong, and it did boot up, but then right after i logged into my account and the home screen loaded, a message came on the screen telling me i needed to restart, so i did and then it just went black and started the beeping thing again.

    so this time i took everything out and just put the two stock modules back in without the crucial ones and it started up just fine.. so my question is, did i just get a module that was bad? i checked all the specs just to make sure and everything matched.

    i called crucial and they said if i send it back they would do an exchange, but i have to pay for the shipping for it to get there, and i really dont wana have to do that

    so from this, is there any way that i could maybe just be installing it wrong? or does it sound like a bad piece?

    thanks for the help, sorry for the novel lol
     
  2. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    The notch ensures it can only go in one way. Sounds like you got some bad ram or it's not compatible.
     
  3. Benz63amg macrumors 68000

    Benz63amg

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
  4. Dresevski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowda
    #4
    Since he's not responding and this is the billionth thread on this subject...this is the kit I used: CT2KIT51264BC1339 (for the other people looking for a RAM kit to purchase). The specs matched the iMacs completely and even though Crucial's website specifically said that this kit would not work with my iMac I ordered it and installed the 2x4GB. No problems sitting at 12GB.
     
  5. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #5
  6. Dresevski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowda
    #6
  7. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #7
    So OP simply had bad luck and got a faulty one? This shouldn't really happen if I go ahead and order mine?
     
  8. Benz63amg macrumors 68000

    Benz63amg

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    #8
    he just ended up with bad ram, there are always exceptions, u really cant get better ram than crucial, they are made by Micron, most other comapnies make their rams with only a few parts from micron and the rest from other vendors. ;)
     
  9. Dresevski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowda
    #9
    Nobody knows what happened to the OP, maybe we'll find out when he comes back tomorrow. But the probability that you will receive perfectly good RAM is high. Therefore as long as you're careful with the install you'll be fine.

    When I installed the RAM in my MBP I read about statically discharging and basically babying the modules. They are delicate and the smallest shock from your body can mess them up. Be sure to at least discharge yourself (touch a large metal thing for ground) then don't drag your feet while walking to the installation area. I put mine in with my iMac face down on my bed and I was sitting on the floor...typical
     
  10. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #10
    Yesterday that Crucial one had a better rating, (today it has one egg less), but I don't think it matters, I think I'll buy that one anyways. :)
     
  11. 400mangos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #11
    the kit is have is the same i think. its says CT51264BC1339.16FH on the sticker on the stick. i did not see anything on there website that said it would not work with my imac. everything i read was that it was completely compatible.

    this is the same one i got.
    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=746859E0A5CA7304

    obviously, i have the 27" 2.7GHZ i5. am i missing something here or did i just get some bad ram?
     
  12. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    Crucial is no better than anyone else. All ram is pretty much the same.

    Most companies have their ram made in foundries. Being they still design it but have other companies make it. Hell, I make chips for apple. And apple didn't even design these chips. But that doesn't reduce quality. We test them and apple tests them. And apple buys a variety of chips from many different companies.

    Some companies don't build or design and flat out buy.

    But none of that results in lesser quality. Fabs must get audited regularly and purchasers get records of the entire manufacturing process and can reject what doesn't meet their guidelines.
     
  13. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #13
    archer75, do you have any personal favorites?
     
  14. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    No, I buy whatever is cheapest that meets the speed requirements my current build supports.

    I have about 7 computers in my house now and no two use the same brand of ram.
    Patriot, G.skill, corsair, OCZ, mushkin, etc. I have those all.

    I have had bad OCZ, kingston and mushkin ram. But I also have good ram from those brands. I have some G.skill still that I used in a build 8 years ago. It's still working. I have some high end mushkin in my gaming desktop. I can't even remember what i'm using in my server or laptop. I do have some corsair in one of my HTPC's.
     
  15. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    I've had good luck with Mushkin, G.Skill, and Crucial RAM in the past.
     
  16. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #16
    Why does the G.Skill one in Newegg have such good reviews? was it just word of mouth spreading?
     
  17. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #17
    Price is good and it's working for people.
     
  18. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #18
    So you would suggest the G.Skill over the Crucial one? (simply because of the price).
     
  19. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #19
    I like cheap and functioning. And several people who bought the G.Skill have installed it in their macs and it works. That's good enough for me.

    Though I got the corsair on yesterdays sale. Should be here in the next day or two.
     
  20. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #20
    No more Corsair left huh? :(
     
  21. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #21
    It was a one day sale and they sold out.

    We'll find out soon if it works!
     
  22. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #22
  23. Benz63amg macrumors 68000

    Benz63amg

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    #23
    doxavita i know archer says its all the same but crucial uses MICRON made chips, gskill doesnt i believe or not FULLY micron made chips.

    even OWC doesnt make their own ram, heck, OWC even sells crucial ram with the OWC sticker on it LOL :D;)

    i bought the crucial.
     
  24. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #24
    It doesn't matter. It means nothing at all. Micron is just one manufacturer out of many. They are no better or worse than anyone else.
     

Share This Page