Some icons don't apply

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mysterio-, Jul 17, 2007.

  1. Mysterio- macrumors newbie

    Mysterio-

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #1
    Heya,

    Trying to change my Finder, Dashboard & Transmit icons with no luck. I have tried to change the one's in coreservices (dock.app) with permissions, but no luck. It only changes the icon to root user but not to my account(?). Dashboard icon doesn't change as well. It changes in Finder but the old icon is still in dock no matter what I do.

    Transmit.app's icon is a tricky one. I changed it, but whenever I launch the application, the icon reverts back to normal ON THE DOCK. Even if I quit Transmit, the icon stays the default for couple of hours and then reverts back to the custom one until I launch it again (?) Ideas?
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Don't know about the Dashboard icon, but after changing the Finder icon you need to delete the Dock cache file(s) /Library/Caches/com.apple.dock.iconcache.50x and restart the Dock before changes will be shown...

    With Transmit (if clearing the Dock cache doesn't work) you might try to look at Transmit.icns and the other files in the /Applications/Transmit.app/Contents/Resourses/ folder...
     
  3. Mysterio- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mysterio-

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Funny, dont have that kind of file anywhere..not even in spotlight
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    The 'x' stands for any number from 1 to 9... ;)

    ...or I might have spelled it wrongly, give me a second... :eek:

    Edit: Nope, they're there:

    Picture-1.jpg
     
  5. Mysterio- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mysterio-

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Yes, I know. Tried searching with "iconcache" and stuff. No luck
     
  6. Mysterio- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mysterio-

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Thanks, found them and it worked! I did not find any similar icons inside the Transmit tho :p
     
  7. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #7
    this is the one reason i use candybar to change my icons. it forces the dock to restart and generally works like a charm. from the makers of Transmit too. :p

    but even relaunching the finder and dock doesn't always work, but logging out and then back in makes everything right, worth a shot if you can't get it working.
     
  8. Mysterio- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mysterio-

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    I'm using candybar too. It however didn't delete those caches so it didn't work. Transmit's changing icon is still a mystery.
     
  9. Mysterio- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mysterio-

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Those I changed when I first got there yesterday, with no luck :O

    edit: lol that Sync has contents inside with another .icns file, changed that, no luck :D
     
  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #11
    Hmmm... did you also try to get up the Transmit.app Info window, mark the icon (top left) and press Backspace/Delete (after replacing the Transmit.icns file)? </long shot>
     
  11. Mysterio- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mysterio-

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Yay, I got it to work somehow! lol

    http://www.niconisula.net/kuvia/deski.png
     
  12. quinters macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #13
    there's an easier way

    I've had wonderful success with liteicon, and it's free. :cool:

    It can even change the finder, desktop, home, and default folder icons!

    -p
     

Share This Page