Some Jailbreak questions [iPhone 3G]

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fishmoose, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. fishmoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    So I feel like jailbreaking to get some of the perks. I've read a lot about under the year I had my iPhone but I still don't understand it 100%.

    I know there's several methods, which one do you recommend? I tried Blackra1n but the app froze then I didn't have the balls to try again, maybe I should? If you JB with Blackra1n does it wipe your phone?

    I'm running Snow Leopard, iPhone is on 3.1.2. I dont care for unlock, I can do it for cheap here in Sweden legit so I do it that way if I need it :)

    Thanks for your time, I appreciate it!
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
    well

    search and yee shall find seriously there so many threads here and every where. this is why nobody is answering. I know personalized answers are nice but we have done this a 1000 times before or course we will still be asked a 1000 more! and I don't know how you can do it cheaper then Dev team http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/211802082/pwnage-pie Free! :D tutorial http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4255 or http://blackra1n.com/ tutorial http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=5566 personally I like the Dev Team! :D the rest you can learn though searching.
     
  3. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    But the guides about Blackra1n don't specify if you should have iTunes open? And things like that.
     
  4. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #4
    fallow

    Iclarified step by step done! if you need itunes open it will say! ;) also tone of youtube vids on both.
     
  5. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    Why did Blackra1n froze on me? Can it be because iTunes was open?
     
  6. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #6
    yep

    Geo nore Iclarified ask you to have itunes open do as instructed! it's a tutorial on Iclarified personally Dev team broke mine blackea1n dodn't work right for me. but I can do both mac and pc
     
  7. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #7
    They also don't specify which color of robe and wizard hat you have to wear during jailbreak.
     
  8. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #8
    Thats probably one of the MOST IMPORTANT details of all...
     
  9. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #9
    For me it worked whether or not iTunes was open.
     
  10. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    Damn, strange the software itself froze for me! I had to force quit it and do a hard reset on the iPhone.

    I dont know if it's Snow Leopard compatibly?
     
  11. instaxgirl macrumors 65816

    instaxgirl

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #11
  12. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    Building my IPSW with that right now! Question though, will I lose all my music? Because then I will do it this weekend going away tomorrow so I dont have time to add all of my music again.
     
  13. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #13
    When I upgraded from iPhone 3.0 to 3.1.2 I did have to resync all of my music.
     
  14. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    Ah that's to bad, I think you will need to do that everytime you upgrade since you restore everytime.
     

Share This Page