Some Mac questions from a switcher.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Topher15, Oct 22, 2007.

1. Topher15 macrumors 6502a

Topher15

I’m finally about to make the swath to Mac (I would have done I sooner by my PC is only a few years old and I wanted to get some more use out of it).

So I’ve been using Mac’s on and off since 2001, although far more over the last year, so while I’m used to them, I’m not used to the more admin specific issues, so here goes:

Is there a Mac equivalent of Window’s DOS and/or “Start > Run” ?
    I know there is Terminal, but how does this relate to the above? What is it used for and what should I be aware of if and when using it (I don’t want to do something which damages the computer).

Add/remove programs?
    If I understand right, some applications install (via an install screen when you open the dmg and click on the file), while others are just dragged into the applications folder. Removing an application is done by simply deleting it from the application folder. Is this the case? And is there an add/remove-like list where I can see everything installed on my computer, or would that just be as simple as looking in the application folder?

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
    Anything equivalent to this (aside from force close) where I can see what is running (in the background) and system performance?

Windows on a Mac
    When running XP on Macs, is the Mac system susceptible to viruses? Can they sneak in via Windows?

Finally, Mac performance after being running for days.