Some of my AVI's won't play sound.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BrianVarick, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. BrianVarick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    #1
    When I open some of my AVI files in quicktime, they say they're missing a component, and when I click on the link, it takes me to a list on the apple site with lots of different components. The video plays fine, it's just the audio, does anyone know what I'm doing wrong, or which of these I should download?
     
  2. carl201167 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Rather than play it in Quicktime, use VLC. It's marvellous :cool:

    Otherwise, whenever I get a problem like this I convert the file to .mov using Visual Hub
     
  3. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    I've had that same problem lately. (a few times anyway) Stupid quicktime codecs.

    I know you can use VLC but goddamnit maybe I want QT to just open it properly. (QT is nice for the "trim to selection" tool and export to frames)

    Anyway, I too would love a solution to this.
     
  4. VoodooDaddy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    #4
    Have you guys having problems upgraded to iLife08 by chance? Ive been having some trouble with different movie files myself in QT and wondering its its related. Prior to the upgrade I never had a problem. But now Im getting some that wont play audio, some that will play audio but no video, and then some that are just kind of choppy. Yes, I too have VLC, but would prefer QT to handle everything.
     
  5. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    No, had the problem prior to the iLife update.
     
  6. Flyers1718 macrumors member

    Flyers1718

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #6
    I had this same problem and believe I found the solution. In VLC on the top bar,click audio. Then tracks and put it on track 2. Thats what would happen to me it would be on track one and some of my files the sound was on track two.

    Hope it helps.
     
  7. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    except VLC is not the app in reference. I'd like it to work in Quicktime.
     
  8. kinesin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #8
    Do you have the A52Codec Universal.dmg installed?

    Certain divx's and rips use the soundsound audio codec mpga (iirc) and this is needed.
    VLC's show file info will point out what audio codec it's needs.
     
  9. Much Ado macrumors 68000

    Much Ado

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Please bear in mind that .AVI is just a wrapper that goes around all sorts of clunky, different files of varying descriptions. They are pretty notoriously low-quality and often don't work quite right in specific apps.
     
  10. Fawzi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #10
    It works !

    Thank you so much !

    I was having the exact same problem. Quicktime couldn't play the sound of only some AVI files.

    This fixed it !

    I found the A52 codec here : http://trac.cod3r.com/a52codec/

    Now I can play all of my AVI files through FrontRow !

    Thanks again.:)
     

Share This Page