Some problem using 8800GT and 7300GT on 1st gen MacPro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Leslie.Hon, Sep 27, 2008.

  1. Leslie.Hon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    My MacPro 2.66 installed a 8800GT in slot 1(using PCI-E x16) and old 7300GT move to Slot 4 (x8)。They work fine on 10.5.2。But after updated to 10.5.3-10.5.5. There have some problems. :confused:
    1. Time Machine background change to white
    2. The "Translucent Menu Bar" in Desktop & Screen Saver lost.:eek:

    Config: Mac Pro 2.66
    7300GT on Slot 4 (x8) and 8800GT for 1st gen (bought from Apple Online Store )on Slot 1 (x16).
    8800GT port A : Dell 2407wfp
    8800GT Port B: Samsung 930BF
    7300GT Port A: Philips 190B
    OS: 10.5.3-10.5.5 have same problem
     

    Attached Files:

  2. viking396 macrumors member

    viking396

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    #2
    I'm a Mac newb but in the PC world I would be checking my video drivers, also try running just the 8800GT first and see if it's works fine that way, if it does then check for drivers.

    They do make drivers avail to Mac people..... don't they? :confused:
     
  3. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    Do you have the Leopard Graphics Update installed?

    RE: drivers for the Mac - not so much. Usually those are rolled out with system updates, not just at any old time.
     
  4. Leslie.Hon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Leopard Graphics Update installed and only 8800GT is work fine(all problem solve).
    But I don't know why have this problem after installed both:confused::(
    I tried reset P-ram, and 7300GT install on Slot 2 (x1), Time Machine background is back. but question 2 can't solve until using 7300GT or 8800GT only. :mad:

    My 8800GT information
    7300GT Information
     
  5. viking396 macrumors member

    viking396

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    #5
    I wasn't meaning rolled out, more like you having control over what driver to run in case one acts nasty. This big brother way of computing just doesn't rub me the right way.
     
  6. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    Ah, I see. In that case, I don't believe so. I could be wrong, but I don't think Apple does it because they want to be big brother, they do it because otherwise they can't guarantee people will get the update and thus have problems running a particular application or otherwise.
     

Share This Page