Some questions about my new Wii

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by barr08, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    OK, I just got a Wii, and I had a few questions:

    1) How do I get the web browser? Is it in the Wii Shop? Does it cost money?

    2) I have a 32 inch flat screen sony Trinitron TV (not HD) with component input. Will the component cables give me a significantly better image than the composite ones that came with the system? Remember, my TV is not HD.

    3) Sometimes the cd drive glows blue for a while when the system is off. What is this?

    4) I couldn't find an ethernet port. Is there only WiFi? Do I need to buy something extra to use a wire?

    5) Does it make a difference for the system if I lay it flat or stand it up?

    That's it for now. Thanks for takin a peek!
     
  2. kgarner macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    1. It in the shopping channel and I think it costs money now.

    2. Technically yes, but I don't think you will notice any difference.

    3. That means that there is an update available. Check the messages.

    4. WiFi only, but there is a USB > Ethernet adapter available.

    5. No.
     
  3. barr08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    1) How do I get the web browser? Is it in the Wii Shop? Does it cost money?

    Yes, it's in the Wii Ware part of the Wii shop. It costs $5 (500 points).


    2) I have a 32 inch flat screen sony Trinitron TV (not HD) with component input. Will the component cables give me a significantly better image than the composite ones that came with the system? Remember, my TV is not HD.

    dunno


    3) Sometimes the cd drive glows blue for a while when the system is off. What is this?

    You have a message from a friend or a message from Nintendo.


    4) I couldn't find an ethernet port. Is there only WiFi? Do I need to buy something extra to use a wire?

    Yes, only WiFi. You need to buy a LAN adaptor.


    5) Does it make a difference for the system if I lay it flat or stand it up?

    Not that I'm aware of.

    Beaten to a crisp.
     
  5. barr08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    Is there a way I can turn the message glowing off?
     
  6. plinkoman macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    Is your tv capable of progressive scan (EDTV)? If so, you will notice a difference, if not, there might be a difference, but it would probably be virtually unnoticeable.
     
  7. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #7
    I believe it's in the options, yeah.
     
  8. barr08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    I have no idea. I'll try and find the specs online to find out.

    Thanks
     
  9. atszyman macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #9
    I have mine hooked to a non-HD Trinitron and can see a difference between the S-Video (bought another cable) and the composite (the cable carries both and both are routed to the receiver so I can do quick comparisons). I would imagine that the composite will give even better than S-Video but it's your call on the improvement being big enough to warrant spending money. I did my cable to avoid confusion since the most commonly used devices (TiVO/Cable box, DVD and Wii) all use S-Vid so the TV doesn't switch inputs very often.
     
  10. barr08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    Yeah, I don't think I am going to do it. My 360 is hooked up to the component input, and I only have one, and I am far too lazy to switch them back and forth.
     
  11. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #11
    Component cables on a CRT look great.

    Composite = fuzzy
    S-video = sharper
    Component = sharper + better color

    *** edit monkey...
    Just saw your other post. I wouldn't invest in componet for the Wii given your current setup.

    <]=)
     
  12. barr08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #12
    Yeah, no component, but my s-video port will be open, as my computer will be upstairs so I won't be able to connect it. Do you guys think s-video is worth the upgrade?
     
  13. barr08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #14
    Good, I just priced them out, I think it is worth the money. Thanks for the input.
     
  14. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #16
  15. lag1090 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #17
    Composite video is worse than S-Video. Component video is better than either of them. I know it's easy to confuse the two names, but they're two completely different cable types.
     
  16. barr08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #18
    Yeah I assumed the second composite he said meant component.
     

Share This Page