Some Quicksilver Action....

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Dronecatcher, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #1
    I've just bought my first Quicksilver - not that I actually needed another Mac but at £30 including keyboard, mouse and 17" Apple Cinema Display I couldn't let it slip by.
    Full spec is 933Mhz, 1.25Gb RAM, 120Gb HD, GeForce4 MX graphics, Tiger/OS9 - I'll mainly use it for OS9, which unsurprisingly, runs like lightning on it!

    Quicksilver.jpg
     
  2. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Bald Knob Arkansas
    #2
    epic machine man. going to be fun to play around with that.
     
  3. AmazingHenry, Sep 25, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2016

    AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #3
    That Quicksilver is much smaller than I thought they were. Also, it seems you have one of the few machines that can boot into OS 9 and Leopard.
     
  4. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Bald Knob Arkansas
    #4
    he said it was a 17 inch cinema display man he got a good deal. i hope something like that stumbles upon me some day lol.
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    Very nice!

    There are two of us on here I know of who use Quicksilvers as our main PPC machines. Mine's a dual 1ghz(factory), while @eyoungren uses a dual 1.8 Sonnet.

    I have better G4 towers(including the "king" dual 1.42), and if I could get all the needed SCSI bits together for my dual 2.7 there's little reason why I shouldn't use it. Even so, there's something that makes me love the Quicksilver and it's hard for me to give it up.
     
  6. RhianB, Sep 25, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2016

    RhianB macrumors 6502

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    #6
    Very nice! I just trash picked my first QS powermac and have been slowly refurbishing & upgrading it as I go along. Mine was a freebie but was missing the HDD, broken cd drive, extremely dirty - YUCK. I had most everything so cost to me has been low ($35USD). The 22" cinema display was a $40 CL pick & I had the KB&M sitting around. I'm digging this machine as a daily user running OS9.2.1/10.4.11 even though I have an ElCap 08 unibody MB sitting right next to it.
    2002QSG4PM.jpg
    eyoungren runs 6 monitors off his QSPM - pretty wild set up. Are you planning to do anything to it?
     
  7. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #7
    No, I'm happy with the spec - if I were to start spending on it then to me it's no longer a bargain :)
    --- Post Merged, Sep 25, 2016 ---
    If you use OS9 on that, are any apps multi-processor aware (Photoshop maybe) - does OS9 even allow it?
     
  8. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Bald Knob Arkansas
    #8
    i think there was a couple dual g3 systems if i remember correctly.
     
  9. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    Mine is OS X only. Even if I wanted to run OS 9, I'd be severely limited by the current GPU(Radeon 9600).

    I am not aware of any. There was an Apple dual 604e system with asymetric multiprocessing(I have one) and I think some dual and quad Mac clones. I'd jump all over a Quad 604 if I found one.

    Photoshop can use the second processor in the 9600, but overall it doesn't do a lot. It's not even recognized in OS X.

    The Gigabit Ethernet was the first dual processor Mac after the 9600. The two higher end configurations(dual 450 and dual 500) had them. The only dual in the Digital Audio was the dual 533, while the Quicksilver came in dual 800 and dual 1ghz. MDDs get more complicated, but the short answer is that most were DP-the exceptions off the top of my head were the single 1.25 and single 1ghz. G5s were largely dual processor or dual core.
     
  10. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
  11. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #11
    I really need to rebuild my Quicksilver, but I'm really loving my MDD. Nice pic man!
     
  12. dandeco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #12
    That reminds me a lot of the old PowerMac G4s we used in my college's video editing lab; 800Mhz G4 QuickSilvers, and similar Studio Displays, black Pro Keyboards, etc. I remember they used to have OS X 10.3 Panther on them, then we were able to upgrade them to 10.5 Leopard (matter of fact, that was where I first used Leopard!) And I also remember the director having me test each PowerMac to see what software was on it. I remember a few came with Final Cut Express (either version 2.0 or 3.0), and the others had FCE 4.0 installed on them.
    Then they replaced them in the summer of 2009 with 24" iMacs (top of the line model), and now they're thinking of replacing THOSE with new Macs (probably 27" Retina iMacs).
     
  13. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #13
    No, I don't put Leopard on sub 1Ghz hardware, especially as the GPU is not Core Image capable either.
     
  14. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #14
    How do you rate the Dual 1.42? I used to have a Dual 1.25 MDD for design and it was a real workhorse.
     
  15. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #15
    I'd have to say that it's easily the fastest G4 I've used, and I have a few of the "warp speed" upgrades.

    One real advantage of it is the fact that it has a 167mhz system bus, which was the fastest used in a G4 tower. It also has an L2 cache, which gives it a not insignificant advantage in real world use.


    The
     
  16. RhianB macrumors 6502

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    #16
    Snag a couple when they do! :)
     

Share This Page