Some Serious Start Up Troubles...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by unefaux, May 27, 2013.

1. unefaux macrumors newbie

Hi! I hope I'm posting this in the right forum. I'm not very experienced with the Mac OS; I've always been a Windows guy myself (sorry!), but I had to get a MacBook Pro for school when I switched majors last Fall.

Also, I really apologize for the length of this post, but I'm kind of freaking out here. This computer was really, really expensive, and it's mandatory for my major, and has all of my work on it. Any help or comments are greatly appreciated!

Here is some prerequisite information before I continue:
    -The computer involved is a MacBook Pro from June 2012 (not the newer Retina Display one) running OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion.
    -It has a 750GB HD, 16GB of RAM, and a 13.3" screen.
    -I bought the computer used.
    -I have never experienced any other problems remotely like this with the computer.
    WHAT WORKS:
    -Internet Recovery, Mac OS X Utilities
    WHAT DOESN'T WORK:
    -Everything else

So last night, my computer froze. I could do nothing but switch between desktops (swiping to the left or right with three fingers), so I pressed the power button to force shut down. But, upon rebooting, I was greeted by a folder with a question mark, flashing on and off. After doing a bunch of stuff (resetting the PRAM, resetting the SMC, trying and failing to enter both single-user and safe modes, etc.), I finally got Internet Recovery to work (after multiple attempts and receiving multiple error codes, none of which have ANY support or even mention on Apple's site) and the computer to get to a place where I could access Mac OS X Utilities. Unfortunately, I have no Time Machine backups, nor do I have the reinstall disc (I bought it used), and the "Get Help Online" option yielded nothing. However, Disk Utility was readily available. The day was saved! Or so it seemed.