Somebody here HAS to have cs6....! And retina

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wiznet, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. wiznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Does anybody mind taking screenshots on the rmbp of any of the following:

    After effects cs6
    Speedgrade cs6
    Premiere pro cs6

    Make sure you include resolution etc... Is there a mode which is particularly good for eliminating blurryness? I'm about to cancel my order and get a normal mbp.. I just wish i could have a look at how bad it is
     
  2. salmoally macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    #2
    No but you can get plenty of info on Diablo 3...
     
  3. undies1993 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #3
    Sorry. I only have CS5.

    What is your concern with CS6 and Retina Display?
     
  4. Ljohnson72 macrumors 6502a

    Ljohnson72

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, Co
    #4
    I'm running CS6 on my RMBP and it looks fine.
     
  5. undies1993 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #5
    Do you mind me asking how much you paid for CS6/Where you got it?
     
  6. Ljohnson72 macrumors 6502a

    Ljohnson72

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, Co
  7. rudyrudell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #7
    I played with cs6 on a display macbook pro retina at the apple store, yes there is some pixelation within the UI, but when I took my eyes off the retina and looked at the same cs6 on a non-retina, I felt like the ENTIRE screen had the same form of pixelation. So yeah, some things are going to look boxy, like a non-hd channel on a hd tv, but not nearly that extreme, and also I hope adobe will update its entire lineup for retina soon (namely audition for me).
     
  8. undies1993 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #8
    I would think that is coming.

    ----------

    It is less, but still quite a price tag. Thanks.
     
  9. Ljohnson72 macrumors 6502a

    Ljohnson72

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, Co
    #9
    If you get Design Premium or one of the smaller packages it's about half that. :)
     
  10. wiznet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    Really? Not blurry looking too much? What resolution settings are you running?

    What programs are you using? Do you mind taking a SS if it's one of the ones I listed above?



    My main concern is that the program will be blurry, and I will not be able to produce my best work. After Effects, Speedgrade, and Premiere Pro are my biggest concern. If my work in Premiere/AE looks like crap inside the application, I'm screwed. I couldn't care less if the buttons were a bit fuzzy, but the content itself needs to be 100%.
     
  11. undies1993 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #11
    My suggestion, if it is an issue, us an external display until ADOBE brings Retina support.
     
  12. MacBird macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #12
    Until Adobe updates CS6, I would stay from a retina display if you don't use an external monitor. Chances are it will look blurry and you might overcompensate and it will look horrible on all other monitors running at their native resolution.

     
  13. undies1993 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #13
    They may have it updated by the time he gets his ;)
     
  14. wiznet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    I can definitely do with an external if the need arises. To be honest, that thought never really crossed my mind - as stupid as that sounds.

    Thanks much, guys - Screen shots would still be appreciated!


    Yeah, no kidding. I'm actually going to be overseas in Africa when it's due to be delivered. Go figure.
     
  15. undies1993 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #15
    That stinks. I think you will love it though. Was finally able to snag one at a Best Buy on Friday.
     
  16. MacBird macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #16
    Maybe he will get it sooner than expected if not only I canceled my order. :)
     
  17. wiznet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    Yeah - I hope I will. Nice!

    Do you mind me asking why you canceled yours? The fuzzyness?
     
  18. MacBird macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #18
    Yes, the way scaling is implemented right now does not work for me.
     
  19. Ljohnson72 macrumors 6502a

    Ljohnson72

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, Co
    #19

    I switch between the 1920 x 1200 and 1680 x 1050 scales. Right now I'm running 1680 x 1050. I've done work in Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, and Lightroom, and everything has been fine for me. Now of course the UI doesn't look retina quality, but it's not THAT fuzzy. As far as content goes, all my content is 100% is the apps I listed above, but I haven't had any work in the apps you listed, sorry. What I can tell you though is that from first glance, the material in the apps you listed aren't going to look the best because of the viewing window issues. But here is a screenshot of After Effects if it helps at all:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. wiznet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
  21. zerotiu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #21
    with this screenshot for comparison. Is the result will be better in classicMBP 1680x1050?
    I also want retina but there's still no retinaMBP I can try in Singapore.
     
  22. Cory Bauer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #22
    Hey how's the raytrace render engine performance? Any chance it's taking advantage of that Nvidia 650M, or is Adobe going to have to do a software update before that'll happen?

    Looks like most of the text in the App interface is being retina-ized automagically, which is great. Once they update CS6 for Retina Display though, that viewer currently showing the video at 33.3% will actually be 66.6%.
     
  23. failsafe1 macrumors 6502a

    failsafe1

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    #23
    Mercury Playback Engine

    Someone has to have tried to get After Effects and Premiere Pro CS6 to spot the Nvidia 650M card. Anyone have a screenshot or results?
     
  24. Cory Bauer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #24
    I can't believe there's not more talk of this, honestly.
     
  25. Ljohnson72 macrumors 6502a

    Ljohnson72

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, Co
    #25
    Sorry just saw these now.

    Until the icons and such get updated, they are pixelated somewhat (but not too bad). Everything else is good. Obviously the UI will look better on a classic MBP until an update comes around, but the ability to run at 1920 x 1200 is worth the trade off IMO.

    Currently, it only supports the following cards:

    GeForce GTX 285
    Quadro CX
    Quadro FX 4800
    Quadro 4000

    However, editing the card support file should theoretically get it to work, but I wouldn't try it for an important project to avoid any possible issues.
     

Share This Page