Someone at Apple needs to fix their screens

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SilentCrs, Jun 12, 2009.

1. SilentCrs macrumors regular

Well, actually, fix the default color profile the new MacBook Pro 15" comes with. It sucks.

Caveat: I know nothing about calibration, photography, etc. I worked in IT at both a PR and advertising firm prior to my current job and I'm glad I switched -- those folks can get whiny. :p

That said, I do appreciate a screen "looking good", especially if I drop 2 grand on the machine. I do a fair amount of programming but also a fair amount of movie watching and video games, and having reasonable colors and blacks is important to me.

That's why I have to say I was a bit surprised when I first turned on my new MacBook Pro 15" (the "highest-end" model). The screen looked incredibly washed out. I messed around with the brightness and it did nothing. It looked like the entire thing was faded.

[​IMG]

I'm not one to fiddle around with the default settings (especially when it comes to calibration, which I know nothing about). That said, this just flat out looked wrong.

I took out my old MacBook Pro 15" (late 2006) and compared them. Sure enough, the old one wasn't nearly as washed out.

[​IMG]

Fortunately, I found the very excellent profile posted by bcalsis here:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=7792331&postcount=57

The result:

[​IMG]

Much prettier. Richer blacks and not nearly as washed out. Should be perfect for movies and gaming.

Here's a final side by side (new calibrated vs. old standard profile). They look about the same:

[​IMG]