someone please put my mind at ease

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PAC88, Apr 23, 2009.

1. PAC88 macrumors 6502

Okay, well I'm going to try and make this as short as possible..

First of all I've been using a 14" ibook g4 for the past 3-4 years and I love it, it was my first apple and still runs strong. Recently though, I've been reaching it's limits in the ram, storage but most importantly the option to power an HD external display because I like to edit photos and might dive into video soon..

I already own a 24" LG external that I've always dreamed of plugging my ibook into (I would keep my ibook forever if I could run an HD monitor), so last week I bought a stock white macbook with the 9400m and 2g ram. I've used it extensively for about 7 days and it handles my current power needs very well, even when hooked up to the LG, which is the main reason I bought it. It's an awesome machine..

The huge drawbacks for the macbook to me is the new keyboard and the glossy display which are both very different from my ibook.. It's not so much the glare that bothers me (on a few occasions it has), but it's mainly the contrast + extremely bright colors that i'm not used to and it hurts my eyes after about 2 hours of work.. I want to love this machine but I can't, therefore I must return it.... Here is where it gets complicated..

In the first couple days of my new macbook I ordered a 2.5ghz 17" mbp w/ 4g ram, 320gb hard drive and glossy display. At the time, I thought the glossy would not bother me, plus it was all the online apple store has had in the refurbished section for a while, so I went with it... It's arriving tomorrow but I'm about 90% sure that i'm not opening the box and going to send it right back because of the display.