Someone please test the Apple Remote with 2012 iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 6ftunder, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. 6ftunder macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Location:
    Austria
    #1
    A lot of people are wondering whether or not Apple removed the IR sensor from the new iMacs so could someone who has a pretty 2012 iMac sitting on their desk and owns an Apple remote test whether or not it works with this model?

    Thank you.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    It won't work, as the new iMac doesn't have the IR receiver.
     
  3. 6ftunder thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Location:
    Austria
    #3
    I really want someone to test it, not assumptions.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    It's not an assumption. It's not there.
     
  5. ralphoi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    #5
    Ive been trying to determine if the remote works too! I havent recieved my 2012 model yet so... appreciate if anyone with the new model can test with an old remote.

    actually test pls! Or show where apple stated that its been removed in the new model! THANKS!
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    There's no way to test something that isn't there. There is no IR receiver on the new iMacs, just like there isn't one on the newest MBPs.
     
  7. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
    Test all you want but the IR sensor was removed from previous iMac's after Apple did away with Front Row.
     
  8. R.OG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #8
    Just tested it out and it does not work. As GGJstudios said there is no IR receiver in the 2012 imac.
     
  9. ralphoi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    #9
  10. R.OG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #10
    My 2011 imac has an IR receiver.
     
  11. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #11
  12. R.OG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #12
    I know that.
     
  13. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #13
    Cool.

    :)
     
  14. 6ftunder thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Location:
    Austria
  15. medi.freak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #15
    nooooooooo =( alternatives? how can I make it work anyway? I was really looking forward to that feature :(:(
     
  16. Razorhog macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #16
  17. lozpop macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
  18. chopperguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #18
    Please post if anyone finds a replacement remote

    I just got my 2012 27 iMac and realized that, for a fact that there is no IR sensor.
    I would be interested to know if anyone has found a physical replacement as in a bluetooth version. I'm not interested in an app for my iPad or iPhone. I need a physical remote and it doesn't have to have any features that the original IR remote didn't have. If anyone has found something like this , please post a reply.
     
  19. multicore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #19
    The magic mouse works at some distance, no?
     
  20. chopperguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #20
    Yes I suppose it will, but not very practical for my needs.

    I just happen to do a search for "USB IR receiver Mac" and found the site http://twistedmelon.com/mira/hardware.html
    They sell a product called Manta TR1 which is a USB receiver and their software " Mira" which allows the original Mac IR remote to work with their IR receiver.
    I bought the package deal (software and IR receiver for a total of $37.98 including shipping. You download the software from their site and the send you the key once you pay. The IR receiver will be shipped to me.

    I have high hopes that this will restore all the functionality I enjoyed with my IR remote that came with my 24 inch iMac. The software "Mira" actually expands on the original functionality and add some user assignable customization. I will post my impression as soon as it arrives and I have time to test it.
     
  21. luisalfonsom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    #21
  22. gCloud macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Location:
    United Federation of Planets
    #22
    but the usb ports are in the back, IR needs line of sight. No?
    u may need a male/female usb cable or usb hub
     
  23. tcarroll2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #23
    I have the Mira Software and TR1 IR receiver. It comes with about a three-foot cable. It works pretty well. I say pretty well because something (iTunes Helper maybe) keeps taking control and when I press the menu button nothing happens. I have it configured to launch Plex when I press Menu, but I have to actually start Plex with my keyboard or mouse and then the remote works as configured.

    It's a shame Apple has removed the IR receiver, but there are options out there. You don't even have to have an Apple remote to use the TR1 and Mira software. You can configure a universal remote to do what you need.
     
  24. tomt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    #24
    Use Apple Remote Witeh MCE 2005 IR Receiver & Mira

    I was very bummed that Apple dropped the IR receiver. We use the Apple remote all the time. With Mira and an MCE receiver, I'm back in business. With the unregistered version, up to (6) programs can be controlled. Or buy for $15
    and it's unlimited.

    After you install Mira, it shows up in System Preferences, in the Other pane.

    As an added bonus, this allows you control full screen Netflix also.
     
  25. bflowers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #25
    I just tested it with the remote for my Apple TV. It didn't work. The fact that there currently isn't a working battery in my remote did not impact the results of this test at all.
     

Share This Page