Someone's buying me my first Mac - what shall I get?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by spib, Jul 4, 2010.

1. spib macrumors member

Hi,

A business client of mine has offered to buy me a Mac as a kind of bonus. I've only had windows machines before so I'm a bit unsure what to get.

I already have 2 iphones (one of which is iPhone 4) and an iPad. I also have a Windows desktop and laptop. I also have a Windows Home Server (kind of a NAS) which stores all my content.

I'm a software developer so I would probably be getting rid of the windows desktop and using the new Mac as my workhorse machine. I still need a few windows apps so would probably be getting Parallels too.

My client has suggested getting a MacBook Pro because he has one and loves it but I wonder if I would be better off getting an iMac as I don't really need portability.

What does everyone think? Any comments on the relative performance of the MBP against the iMac?

Thanks

James

2. yoak macrumors 65816

yoak

I know nothing of software development, but a great deal about editing on Macs.
    If you don´t need the portabillity (you have an iPad after all) get the iMac. The 27" screen is great.

I used to have the older 24" iMac and when I had to trade it for a 15" MBP ( I need portability with power) I really missed that screen.

Also, the iMac has more power than a MBP as some of it´s components are desktop components as opposed to laptop components (Hard drive)

3. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

...if its a bonus, get a 27" iMac with at least the i5 quad desktop cpu!

It sounds like you might not have a choice though if he's set on getting you a MBP?...

Good luck with your new toy!

4. eawmp1 macrumors 601

eawmp1

Skip the "portability tax". If all a laptop is going to do is st on a desk, you wasted serous $. Go to Apple store and spec out a 27" iMac versus a 17" MacBook Pro. Then tell us once you've made the decision.

5. Vylen macrumors 65816

Get the iMac.