Something is taking over my CPU! virus?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by copperz, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. copperz macrumors member

    copperz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #1
    I am using istat widget that lets you monitor your system. I noticed that after about 20 min my computer all of the sudden uses a lot of the CPU resources and warms up from 120F to 160F. Clickinig on the istat cpu monitor i see that something called rostertobrother.. using 99%. Looking at activity monitor i don't have that in there. I tried to look it up in finder and i don't have anything like that. Is this a virus? Can someone help?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. copperz thread starter macrumors member

    copperz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4

    Yes its connected to the network in my office.
     
  4. sascha h-k macrumors 6502

    sascha h-k

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Location:
    vienna / austria
    #5
    open activity monitor and choose the "thing" and stop process/immediatly ...

    restart and see what happens.

    do you use the latest printersoftware ?
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    As was posted by e above me, the process is constantly looking for the printer when it isn't attached.

    Read the thread he posted for a possible solution.
     
  6. copperz thread starter macrumors member

    copperz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #7
    I am not printing anything on the brother printer and i dont have any pending print jobs. I have to restart the the computer to stop it but then it comes back., how do i kill this process? Or how to cure it from taking all the CPU
     
  7. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    Have you read the link I searched for and provided to you, good sir?
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    Did you install the Brother software that came with the printer? You could try uninstalling that, then using a generic driver for when you print.
     
  9. copperz thread starter macrumors member

    copperz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #10
    Nope, i did not install any software that came with the pritner. But when i did software update (snow leopard) the software/drivers were also installed for this printer.
     
  10. sascha h-k macrumors 6502

    sascha h-k

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Location:
    vienna / austria
    #11
    do you read the posts ? :mad:

    open activity monitor kill process restart and see what happens.
     
  11. copperz thread starter macrumors member

    copperz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #12
    I did not have that proccess in my activity monitor. I only saw it Istat widget.
     
  12. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    In the drop down menu at the top of Activity Monitor, choose All Processes.
     
  13. copperz thread starter macrumors member

    copperz

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #14

    O i see. Thank you, im new to Macs. Well i managed to stop it by deleting all of the printers. Thank you for the help. But im sure once i add it back it will again continue this. is this just a bug with brother?
     
  14. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Seems to be.

    Check the Brother web site for an updated driver to your printer. It may work.
     
  15. n19htmare macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #16
    if you're gonna ask a question, it's only respectful you read ALL the replies, not pick and choose.

    The VERY FIRST REPLYlinks you to a similar thread with a solution on the last post but you totally ignored edesignuk's effort and help and didn't even bother to thank him for doing the research FOR YOU. Something I'm sure you're capable of doing.

    After all that, you still asking questions about if it's a bug? Jeez man, show some respect.
     
  16. njl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    SAT
    #17
    no kidding
     
  17. kryptonianjorel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #18
    3rd that. We all have jobs and lives ourselves, and will not do your research for you. The people that help on these forums will only do so much for you, so when you're given a link to a discussion about your problem and the solutions, read it
     
  18. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #19
    +1
     

Share This Page