Something to Record Music

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Sdahe, Mar 17, 2011.

1. Sdahe macrumors 68000

Sdahe

Hello guys,

I'm looking for a nice app to record my music... Something where I can record my guitar, the bass, the drums, etc... Not as expensive as ProTools but something nice. What would you recommend?

2. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

Michaelgtrusa

3. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

Before buying anything, you should give Garageband a try. It is surprisingly powerful for an entry level program.

4. Ravenwolf40 macrumors newbie

I have been doing computer music for over 25 years now (started with a midiator and I can remember cakewalk 1.0 LOL). Does this make me an expert, no... But i have seen, owned, and played with a LOT of gear over the years.

Garageband is amazing, honestly, give it a fair shake. I own logic express 9 and I prefer garageband! Garageband's audio engine is the same as Logic's audio engine. I can open ezdrummer, melodyne cre8, fl studio poizone, morphine, toxic biohazard, sampletank, guitar rig, amplitube, you name it. Garageband is beautiful because once you get over the simple learning curve you can concentrate on your music instead of spending hours trying to figure out how to make your software do what you want it to do.

Creativity normally hits in little windows of time (at least it does for me), if it takes longer than 5 minutes to get recording, the feeling could pass. (Ie like loading samples into a 2mb emax II sampler for 10 minutes LOL ;P). Granted logic is powerful but create in garageband and if you need to you can open and edit the garageband files in logic.