Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bingochips16

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2008
hey all
I'm fairly new to Mac, I've used them multiple times and I'm very experienced with computers in general, but I've never had a Mac as my personal computer. I'm getting my new Macbook 2.4 ghz (white) in about a week, and i plan on upgrading the RAM myself from 2 gigs to 4, which I've seen on youtube is fairly easy. basically I'm just wondering if there's anything that you all recommend I should do when I first get my mac, apps i should check out, set up that I should do, stuff like that.
all advice is appreciated, thanks.

AndyK

macrumors 65816
Jan 10, 2008
Terra
Adium / iStat Pro / Newsfire.

See the link in my signature on how to get them.

bingochips16

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2008
oh yeah i totally forgot..from all the experience out there..whats the best way for me to transfer all my data, which is around 40gb of music, documents, movies, files, etc. to my new mac. i know that they can do it at the apple store when i go to get my computer, or i can do it over the network, through USB cable. basically what i'm wondering is whats the most efficient way to migrate everything.

DoFoT9

macrumors P6
Jun 11, 2007
London, United Kingdom
oh yeah i totally forgot..from all the experience out there..whats the best way for me to transfer all my data, which is around 40gb of music, documents, movies, files, etc. to my new mac. i know that they can do it at the apple store when i go to get my computer, or i can do it over the network, through USB cable. basically what i'm wondering is whats the most efficient way to migrate everything.

goodluck getting it to transfer over USB! lol....

uumm if you have a home network then using ethernet would be easiest (but fairly difficult to setup).