Somewhat new to Macs, some questions about viruses etc

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Caralvarez24, Jun 10, 2008.

1. Caralvarez24 macrumors regular

I have been using a MacBook Air for a few months now. In high school (5 years ago) we used Macs. The last few years I have been using...windows...I know its sad. Anyway my girlfriend told me her uncles iMac got a virus that was bad enough that they had to replace it. How real is a threat of viruses to the Mac OS? I saw they had Norton Antivirus in the Apple Store is it necessary? Adding to that how is the threat of spyware? Other than that what maintenence things do I need to be worried about?

Also I have noticed that every once in a while Safari seems to run slow for a period of time. Before and after this it runs really fast. I am on a wireless network using a cable internet connection. Could there be something wrong here?

Thanks for the help!

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

i would not recommend norton under any circumstances for the mac

you will hear a few dissenters, but for the most part the overwhelming voice will be that you don't have anything to worry about concerning spyware or viruses

Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]

3. iToaster macrumors 68000

iToaster