Sonnet Tempo Pro 6G PCI-e slow

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Baunkjaer, Jun 18, 2013.

  1. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #1
    Got the Tempo-card last week and installed my two 180GB Intel 330/335 SSD´s in it.
    The SSD´s were previously installed in the MP back-plane in RAID 0. No problems. The MP booted fine.
    But I´m not quite satisfied with the read/write speed....:eek:
    I´ve read something about Black Magic speedtest and SandForce-based SSD´s - something about the program simly doesn´t like SandForce.

    I´m thinking about getting two 250GB Samsung 840 (non-pro) and replace the Intels. Will that increase the rea/write speed?

    Here´s a few screenshot...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #2
    That seems to be a very low number.
    What speed did they get when on the back-plane?
    Try the AJA speed test
    Looks like Sonnet's site shows read/960 write/810 for 2 6G SSD's on the card!
     
  3. Baunkjaer, Jun 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2013

    Baunkjaer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #3
    Well, it was even worse on the back-plane, as the SSD´s only ran SATA150 :confused:
    Seems to be the architecure of the Intel 330/335.
    It runs SATA600 on the Sonnet.
    AJA speed test won´t test the RAID - only my 2TB internal disk.

    Edit: You have to change the diskpermissions in order to let AJA do its thing on you bootdrive.
    It´s still a little low, which I might just blame the Intel SSD´s:D
     

    Attached Files:

  4. OS6-OSX, Jun 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2013

    OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I'm sure you saw in the quick start guide that it stated to only use slots 3 or 4 on the 2008 MP's
    On the ATTO you have to setup the interleave. 512k was suggested but I went with 1MB. I did not see that type of setup in the Sonnet quick start guide.
    See if there is a Sonnet forum or search to see what brand SSD's give the numbers on the Sonnet site
    There are SSD brands and speed comparisons in this post >Sonnet Tempo SSD Pro vs OWC Accelsior
    I'm getting these numbers with the ATTO
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Baunkjaer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #5
    Nice speed.
    The Sonnet is placed in slot 4.
    Seems like the linkspeed is low :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. peterson12 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #6
    Yes, it is card issue. This can also happen on old MP due to the interface speed limitations. You can be very much assured on the Intel SSDs you have purchased. They are really server class and highly reliable. Firmware updates can also help.
     
  7. Baunkjaer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #7
    Both SSD´s has latest firmware. Anyhow, the linkspeed seems to be OK. I tried in slot 2, with same result. Only this time, my GTX 570 ran hot, very hot:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page