Sonnet Tempo SATA card not reporting

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by jbarley, Oct 2, 2015.

  1. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #1
    I've installed a Sonnet Tempo Sata card in my dual 1.42 MDD and it boots and runs just fine with a 128GB SSD, no problems.
    Funny thing is though that system profiler does not see it and reports this...
    "This system does not contain any Serial-ATA devices. If you have any Serial-ATA devices installed, please check that they are connected and powered on."
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
  3. jbarley thread starter macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #3
    Yes this seems to be what it is reporting in slot #4 which is where it is located.
    -----------------------
    SeriTek/1S2 v. 5.3.1b1, 11/02/07, 23:24:45:
    Name: Seri-Tek1S2
    Type: ata
    Driver Installed: Yes
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: SLOT-4
    Vendor ID: 0x1095
    Device ID: 0x3112
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1095
    Subsystem ID: 0x3112
    ROM Revision: 5.3.1.1S2
    Revision ID: 0x0002
    ----------------------------

    Anyhow no bid deal, it does boot and run and adds just that little bit more to the overall performance.
     
  4. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Here's an interesting tidbit-

    I have a bootable A-card branded ATA PCI card. It will work(as far as I know) in all PCI Macintoshes, has two ATA-133 busses, and has no drive size limits or other weird problems sometimes seen in Mac ATA buses(i.e. 128gb caps, 8gb limits on the OSX partition in OWR Macs, etc).

    In any case, the last time I used this card I was booting Tiger on my 9600. It showed up as a SCSI card and the drives showed up as Parallel SCSI devices.
     
  5. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #5
    to further add onto what bun has said The SATA card I flashed using the guide on here shows up as an ATA Device not a SATA device. I would check ATA devices and SCSI Devices in system profiler see if your SSD shows up there
     
  6. jbarley thread starter macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    My SSD only show up in Disk Utility, and it reports an ATA connection type.
    But what the h&ll, it works. :)
     
  7. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    I've reached that point many, many times.
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Yeah, mine is a $10 Windows/PC SATA card that I flashed using @harrymatic's directions. Reports only on the ATA bus just like LightBulbFun (Fan :D).

    Youngren14.png Youngren14 2.png Youngren14 3.png
     
  9. for this macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #9
    That's perfectly normal for that card. :)
     

Share This Page