Sony HC9 and Imovie

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by silkwood, Dec 16, 2009.

  1. silkwood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Location:
    Sunshine State Australia
    #1
    Hello all,

    Ok very new to this.
    imac 10.4.11
    HDR-HC9
    Firewire

    Imovie picks up the camera as the controls work. So I can play stop etc.
    But I only get the blue screen even though the video is playing on the camera. I know I am missing something very simple but elude me it does.

    Please tell me it is not as simple as the wrong cable.

    Silkwood
     
  2. KeriJane macrumors 6502a

    KeriJane

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    ЧИКАГО!
    #2
    Hi silkwood!

    Welcome to the forum.

    Ummm...

    Your camcorder appears to be an HD camcorder.

    We could learn a little more about your iMac if you click on the Apple icon in the left top corner, then "About this Mac"

    OSX version 10.4.11 is commonly referred to as "Tiger".

    Tiger is an older version of OSX. After Tiger came Leopard, and just recently, Snow Leopard.

    What version of iMovie are you using?

    It might be that you are trying to capture HD video on a older version of iMovie that doesn't support it, or your iMac doesn't meet the requirements for HD capture.

    iMovie '08 and '09 should support HD video IF your computer meets the minimum requirements. If you're still running Tiger it probably doesn't.

    Here's the system requirements page for iLife/ iMovie '09:
    http://www.apple.com/ilife/systemrequirements.html

    Good Luck,
    Keri
     
  3. tamaskrivitz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #3
    Sony Hdr-hc9

    Dear,
    Could anyone help me to tell me how to connect the HDR-HC9 to Final cut HD or Imovie ,I am trying to do it with Ilink and on my macpro Firewire 400 or fire 800(both) but it doesn't seems to recognize it in any of the programs above.

    Any help would be very much appreciated.
     
  4. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #4
    Sony Hdr-hc9 settings

    settings. I have used one of the earlier models of these and I had to go into the setting of the camera and mess around with a few things.
    If I remember correctly I had to change the HDV/DV setting to one or the other. There was an iLink setting that had to change too.
    the final cut setting were HD firewire basic 60i.

    other than that, I am at a bit of a loss, but that is where I think the culprit is.

    oh, and only use fw 400 on your MP.
    mixing 800 and 400 can be messy
     
  5. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

    Angelo95210

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #5
    I have the HC9 and everything is working fine with iMovie 08 and Final Cut Express 4. However I have no idea why it is not working by you...
     
  6. silkwood thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Location:
    Sunshine State Australia
    #6
    Yep Imovie version was the problem need 8.00 or above
     

Share This Page