Soon to be switcher

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by match311, Jul 13, 2007.

1. match311 macrumors member

I am an Aerospace engineering going into my fourth year of study (im on the "five year" program). Since my dell is having motherboard failures (and its about 3.5 yrs old) I decided now is the best time to switch. Now I am stuck between a black macbook and the 2.2 macbook pro (as are most people in this topic). That said may laptop needs to be portable enough to go with me everywhere on campus and perform the usual internet surfing, music, photos and word processing. As an Aero engineer I may need to still do some 3d modeling for classes (probably pro e or solidworks) but I am not positive. I see there are some engineer grads here, did you utilize your gpu's that much this late in the degree? My budget is ready for either option. Is the macbook pro more cumbersome to the point I wont want to carry it in my backpack? Can a 2gb macbook handle the 3d modeling? Any help is greatly appreciated.

:apple:

2. techlover828 macrumors 68020

techlover828

The macbook pro is only .3 pounds heavier that the macbook so its a question of size, if your backpack can hold the mbp i'd go for, otherwise go for the macbook, i'm not sure but I think that it could handle it

3. CalBoy macrumors 604

CalBoy

Most likely, if a backpack can hold a mb, it will be able to take a mbp. Only the really small backpacks can't handle the size of the mbp.

OP, since you're almost done with school, sign up for ADC and get a really decked out mbp:cool:

4. ktbubster macrumors 6502a

ktbubster