Sound gone on Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Luis Ortega, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #1
    Since yesterday, my 2008 Mac Pro has no sound.
    The startup chime is silent. No sound comes from the speakers and the line out/in options in system sound preferences is missing, although it still lists my Logitech webcam microphone.
    Could the sound chip on the logic board have stopped working?
    The missing line in/out devices in the sound preferences seems like it might be a hardware problem.
    I have tried all of the normal things like checking cables and resetting pram but no change.
     
  2. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #2
    Are there some audio preferences you could trash and then try a restart? Also trash any third party audio plugins and such that might be causing a conflict and disconnect everything but the display, keyboard and mouse.
     
  3. Luis Ortega thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #3
    Thanks. I did try trashing all the audio preferences and having nothing else connected to the computer earlier on but it made no difference.
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    SMC reset?

    Unplug power and hold down the power button for 10-15 seconds

    Or PRAM reset
     
  5. Luis Ortega thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #5
    Thanks. I did all that too, without any change.
    No startup chime, no sound at all from any software or media and no line in/out device listed in the sound preferences.
    I also noticed that there is no sound either when I boot up in Windows using Bootcamp.
    It sounds like a logic board failure of the sound chip to me. I was thinking of buying a sound card to stick in the mac pro, but I don't know if it will work.
     
  6. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    Sorry to hear about your problem. Maybe an option is try cleaning up the interior from dust. If it does not work, another option is getting a logic board for your 2008 Mac Pro thru eBay UK. This listing is in eBay USA http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...rd&_nkw=2008+mac+pro+logic+board&_sacat=58058 Hope in UK you can get one at a low price.
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    There is a kext on this site that enables HDMI audio using the chips present on modern GPUs.

    Might work for you, not sure
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    It could be software related. Mine did the exact same thing, right down to the Logictech Mic.

    I ended up rolling the OS a week back (to a time when it worked perfectly) and tada... It was fixed. My problem was caused either by a recently installed app., or a botched update. I thought it was a hardware problem, but I booted to a Ubuntu LiveCD and found the sound worked fine.

    Perhaps you could boot to a different OS for diagnostics, just to eliminate your OS/Apps.
     
  9. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
  10. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #10
    If the internal sound chip is broken and everything else is ok, you might want to consider buying a cheap external usb sound module. Something like the iMic — however this is no longer sold. But there are plenty of cheap USB sound modules which work just fine with OS X.
     
  11. Luis Ortega thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #11
    Thanks. I did try booting into an old clone and also into windows through bootcamp but the sound was still missing.
     

Share This Page