sound not working in quicktime

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by eemer, Aug 31, 2008.

  1. eemer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    #1
    Hi, for some reason recently, my version of quicktime (7.5) has stopped playing the sound on my movies..sound is working fine on the rest of my computer, and yes, i did check if the volume was on and all the settings boxes checked in the right places...hehe. any ideas anyone? cheers.
     
  2. atomoboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #2
    No new software installed and you're trying the same type files as before or better yet a file that previously worked? Is other sound still working?

    If it's new files, it possible you're trying to play something encoded with a codec you don't have installed.

    Try reinstalling QuickTime first and see if it persists.
     
  3. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #3
    What is the audio format in your movie files? Apple seems to go out of their way to break codecs with each "revision" of QT.
     
  4. eemer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    #4
    hmm, well i reinstalled, and still nada. I am playing .avi files, if that helps?
     
  5. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

  6. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #6
    Try this out: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2178

    Sometimes misbehaving programs will change the audio output sample rate to something really high and leave it there. Not all codecs can handle that rate so no sound is played.
     
  7. eemer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    #7
    Yep I have Perian, and my audio output settings are all fine according to that links. Thanks though, any other ideas?
     
  8. tigermurphy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #8
    Perian worked

    I "upgraded" to Quicktime 7.5 and also lost the sound on my movies. Movies (and audio) in h.264 and sorenson 3 play fine when I bring them into iTunes, but they weren't working in QT. Installing the Perian file into QT seems to have the fixed the problem.

    Now I would just like to know why my Sorenson 3 codec disappeared when I upgraded. argh!
     
  9. Chappers macrumors 68020

    Chappers

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Location:
    At home
    #9

Share This Page