Sound through HDMI?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by sportguy0913, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. sportguy0913 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I have my new MacBook Pro hooked up to our 50" Toshiba HDTV via HDMI cable (with the help of a mini DisplayPort to HDMI adapter). Is there a way to get the sound to work through the TV? It only plays through my computer, currently. I thought HDMI was video and audio?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Apple turned off the audio in Mini DisplayPort. Run a separate cable.
     
  3. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
  4. iAlexG macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #4
    You need a Y audio splitter RCA thingy. I got one here.
     
  5. sportguy0913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Ok. Then do I plug that into my surround sound system? Cause HDMI usually covers both audio and video, so there is no audio ports separate for the HDMI input I'm using on the TV.
     
  6. iAlexG macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #6
    The RCA audio cable will go into your surround sound system and the HDMI into the TV. Is that what you are asking?
     
  7. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #7
    Do what Tallest Skill says/said; I was commenting on Apple's logic.
     
  8. iAlexG macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #8
    Exactly, use the cable I suggested then you can run a HDMI to your TV and the RCA to your surround sound
     
  9. alfonsog macrumors 6502

    alfonsog

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Cape Coral, FL
    #9
    To get 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound you need to get an optical cable to your surround sound receiver input. You need an adapter for the cable since the Macbooks have a combined optical digital audio output/audio line out (the adapter is like $2.) If you just use the RCA cables your just going to get stereo and/or dolby pro-logic surround (this is a huge difference.)
     
  10. sportguy0913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Got it

    Hey guys,

    thanks for all of the help! I found an aux cable that has the headphone end on one end and red/white on the other, so it fits in the headphone jack. :)

    Thanks!
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12

Share This Page