sound volume preference

rdwhipp

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 18, 2006
5
0
iMac is new 2 me, refurbished from PowerMax out of Oregon.
iMac G4 800mhz dual boot, OS9.2/OS10.1.2.
Will not save volume level preference no matter where or how I set levels in control panels for sound, speakers etc. Neither OS works.
Any cures?
 

nagromme

macrumors G5
May 2, 2002
12,546
1,186
Fresh OS install?

Also, you have a very old version of OS X, and buying Tiger would give you a lot :)
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,199
6
Adelaide, Australia
When does the volume reset? Is this after each login or each restart or will both operating systems simply not let you change the volume at all? :)
 

orangezorki

macrumors 6502a
Aug 30, 2006
618
17
Things to try, in the rough order I'd try them (of course, this might make your computer explode, so don't blame me)

1. Zap the PRAM

2. Reinstall the OS

3. See if there is a battery for the system clock. The volume info may be held by the same system. Your problem if this is gone is that you may well have to seriously open up the system, as I think you need to even remove the processor heatsink to get to anything...

David
 

rdwhipp

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 18, 2006
5
0
Thanks for your replies.....
I've zapped the PRAM...no help there.
The sound level adjustments all work when the system boots up but the level is very loud until I adjust it to a lower setting. Once adjusted all is well until I shut the system down then reboot at a later time. The levels are back up again upon reboot. Happens with both OSs as start up disk.
I'm leaning toward a clean install of OS 10.3 or .4. You guys recommend this? As a newbie I can already see I'm gonna like this machine...
 

nagromme

macrumors G5
May 2, 2002
12,546
1,186
Well, re-installing is a pain, but sometimes necessary. Better to do it BEFORE all your stuff is in the way.

Also, you don't really need to power a Mac down every day. They sleep and wake reliably, and that's how they're intended to be used. (The only reason I would shut down daily is if I had very unreliable power.)

Or, do what I do: leave it on full-time so just the display sleeps, and run Folding@Home :)
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,199
6
Adelaide, Australia
Okay, just to test at what stage of the boot sequence this reset is occurring, mute your volume and then try restarting. Do you hear the start up POST (bong sound)? :)
 

rdwhipp

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 18, 2006
5
0
Your input is appreciated....
I live in the boondocks here in the Pacific NW. Power failures/surges are part of the deal.
No "bong" on restart. So reset happens after "restart post", correct? I've been to the startup folder but I'm not schooled enough to know just what to look for much less what to change.....
Thanks guys.
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,199
6
Adelaide, Australia
Interesting. It's a refurbished machine. Did you do a clean install of the OS as soon as you received it? It's not usually essential but if it's not too difficult it can be reassuring knowing that you've installed the OS yourself. :)
 

rdwhipp

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 18, 2006
5
0
The machine came with the OSs installed.
I'm thinking I'll go ahead with a clean install of OS10x and forget OS9. PS Elements is the only App that Classic would open when I booted with OS10 so I'll upgrade it and give this ol' Apple a break. One OS is enough for me and my machine.
Recommend OS10.3? or OS10.4?
thanks fellas