Soundflower Bundled?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by eddjedi, Oct 14, 2017.

  1. eddjedi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #1
    I have just done a fresh install without any migration or transfer of preferences/plugins etc, yet have noticed that once again I have Soundflower under my audio in/out preferences! This is one of the reasons I did a fresh install, I used to use Soundflower years ago but couldn't then get rid of it after.

    Apart from High Sierra the other 'media' related apps I have since installed are VLC, Office 2016, Logic Pro, Traktor, and Adobe CC 2017 (Photoshop & Audition.) Do any of these apps include Soundflower as a bundle when installed? I can't figure how else it could have appeared again, like I said I haven't migrated anything from my old account.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 14, 2017 ---
    Found the culprit, it was Toast Titanium. Apparently its screen capture software uses Soundflower.
     
  2. jameshenderson, Feb 13, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018

    jameshenderson macrumors newbie

    jameshenderson

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Location:
    Oxford
    #2
    I know Soundflower is bundled with Splashtop (for remote audio) but do not remember is being there when I last installed High Sierra.

    {edit} - just realised my reply is somewhat ...tardy.
     
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    Good to know.

    If you want sound on screen captures with Quicktime you also need Soundflower for audio routing.

    I don't remember ever hearing about Soundflower causing any issues.
     
  4. eddjedi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #4
    Not so much a problem with it, I just don't like finding rogue software installed that I don't recall agreeing to.
     

Share This Page

3 October 14, 2017