Soundtrack Pro 2 - ducking - need help

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by CmdrLaForge, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. CmdrLaForge macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I think about producing my podcast ( http://www.maccast.de ) in Soundtrack Pro 2 instead of Garageband. Now - I cannot find the ducking feature in Soundtrack Pro 2. Maybe some can give me a hand/hint.

    That would be great.

    Thanks
    LaForge
     
  2. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #2
    i'm not familiar w/ that software nor its plugins, but if you can find a compressor that supports keying, you can key off comment track and duck that way.
     
  3. CmdrLaForge thread starter macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #3
    Thanks - but I don't want to duck it completely away - I am just looking for the exact same feature that Garageband has for so long now.
     
  4. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    you don't have to, you can control exactly how much is ducked.
     
  5. nbusse macrumors member

    nbusse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    boston
    #5
    I haven't really worked w/ soundtrack, but it seems like there should be a volume control somewhere...? in programs like DP there's multiple ways to draw in your own volume controls.

    might be something like a filtered view, where if you can make it display the volume level you can drag it down
     
  6. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #6
    yeah, but who wants to volume automate a 40-60 minute podcast? program material is why we have ducking tools.
     
  7. CmdrLaForge thread starter macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #7
    I just want auto ducking like in Garageband. Just the same as in Garageband. Of course I can change the volume by setting keyframes and then adjust it. But thats not what I want.
     
  8. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #8
    You would probably get better help in the digital video forum seeing as Soundtrack 2 is designed to be used with FCP.

    Sorry I have no idea how to do this myself as I have not really started to use Soundtrack properly.
     
  9. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #9
    hrumph. i already posted how to do it! >:-/
     

Share This Page