SP2, 4 meg issue, nLite and now i386/AMD64 problem

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ipolarbear6, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. ipolarbear6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #1
    I am attempting to install a Vista update on an XP full set using Boot Camp on my Mac.

    So far, with much too-ing and fro-ing between the partitions I have managed to install XP, install .net FRAMEWORK v2 and install nLite but I still can't install Service Pack 2. Without nLite it goes through all the set up using i386 until it loads the wizard then it scans for space and says that it needs 4 MB more but there are 28GB free (I partitioned to 32gb)

    With nLite, I have copied SP2 to the desktop of shared documents in Documents and Settings. I have also tried installing it from a copy on the USB flash and also from a copy on a CD. I get the same result. It says 'Make sure the selected folder or drive contains the i386 or AMD64 directory and proper windows installation files".

    I formatted to NTFS because I want to update to Vista and the first time I loaded XP I did FAT32 and the Vista disc said that it needed to be NTFS. (I scrapped the partition and started again) I see from other forums that this problem occurred a lot in 2008 and I assume that by now, someone has found a solution.

    I cannot load the drivers or upgrade to Vista without SP2 so I am stuck. Any one got any advice? I can't use SP3 without SP1 and SP1 won't load either!

    My Mac is an iMac 3GB memory and with 750 GB hard drive.

    I have also download Insane Clowns reference manual from the nLite site which I have followed but just can't get passed the i386/AMD64 issue.

    We have other legal copies of Vista but they are buried on Toshiba and Dell installation discs (and are still in use).

    HELP!!!!

    (PS Perhaps its because I hate Windows but my husband wants to use my 24' screen and his PC has gone bottom up!)
     
  2. ipolarbear6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #2
    XP SP2 installation needs another 4MB

    I am told that nLite is not the answer inwhich case, my problem is that when I try to update XP with SP2 it tells me that I have insuffieicent drive space to install and put deinstallation files. It wants another 4MB but there are 28GB free - I partitioned to 32GB.

    I know this problem has happened before when XP was still fairly current but cannot find entries of 3 years ago which is when the problem would have been solved. Can anyone help please - I am really at a loss. Please don't recommend that I go out and buy a complete install Vista or 7. We have an unused upgrade to Vista which is my husbands preferred programme and I am trying to get XP working properly before I upgrade it.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
  4. ipolarbear6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #4
    Thank you so much for this advice. I have read the article and I will try it now. I won't remove the XP because then I shall feel that its an upgrade! (Which it should have been!)

    Thanks again. If it doesn't work - I'll be back!!!!!!
     
  5. ipolarbear6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #5
    Thanks balamw - you're the biz. Really easy and in fact I removed the partition and then formed a new one in Boot Camp so that I could install Vista clean. Great!

    Only problem is ..... I installed all the Boot Camp drivers - went like a dream - I watched it install the drivers for the keyboard and mouse even though they had been working fine. Afterwards they wouldn't work at all!!!! Even after reboot!!!!

    Off to find out what to do - any suggestions?
     
  6. Grannyville7989 macrumors 6502a

    Grannyville7989

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #6
    If you can, run Apple Software Update to get the latest version of Boot Camp and see if that resolves your problem.
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Yeah, that's what I suggested too in the other thread the OP started. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1097511

    B
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    +1

    As a rule of thumb, always do a clean install if you can. Using the "upgrade" option will often lead to more problems than anything else.
     

Share This Page