Space vs Cube

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bubble27, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. bubble27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #1
    Has anyone seen Beryl on linux? It has this WICKED cube that rotates new desktops instead of sliding across like spaces.

    Does anyone know if you can make leopard do the same?

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ZD7QraljRfM
     
  2. icecone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #2
    Probably not.
    But compiz fusion/beryl is open source and you might try porting it.:rolleyes:
    Leopard has the Expo plugin anyway
     
  3. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    no, leopard can't do that. Port it? mmmmm... its not that easy as you might think.
     
  4. jellomizer macrumors 6502

    jellomizer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #4
    There may possibly be a transition effect in an XML file somewhere in the OS for spaces, I don't know the name or the type or what to make it too... But I am guessing by the fact that Core Animation is used in Leopard there may be a configuration hidden very deep in the OS.
     
  5. bubble27 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #5
    Mac OS is Unix with a very nice GUI. Linux is the same thing, for sure there is a way to do that with Leopard but i was wondering if there is a quick update/plugin or option whatever to do that.

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=yF0BQJGMEY8

    Thats mac OS with a sort of cube thing going on, maybe spaces with four sides like a cube.
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    two points

    1. mac osx is not in sync with latest linux libraries.
    2. Apple's products have never been famous for its "options".
     
  7. SugarMice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #7
    the cube

    Hey guys, I was looking for the same thing after I saw this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6kxDxLAjkO8 (which is a very cool video btw, check it out) and in the video is shown Spaces like the cube in Linux, so..there's gotta be a way of doing it...
     
  8. karenflower macrumors 6502a

    karenflower

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #8
    If you look closely, this is simply done by enabling 'Fast User Switching' in Account preferences. When you switch to another user it uses this cube effect.
     
  9. remmy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #9
    Here you are maybe...

    http://desktopmanager.berlios.de/

    I used to use this on 10.4 I think, not as cool as the video you showed, a bit basicbut does have allot of transitions including a cube style spin and other useful little bits.
     
  10. davbeck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    #10
    Not so possible

    Yes it is true that Mac OS X is Unix, with a bit more than a nice gui on top, but it is not quite possible to port Compiz because of that nice gui. You see Compiz works on the X window layer, and OS X does not use the X window system, so any port would have to be completely rewritten for mac and as Mac's gui is not open source, it is almost impossible to do so. Probably the closest thing that you could achieve is applying the window effects to programs running under X11 but you wouldn't have the cube effect anyway.
     
  11. karenflower macrumors 6502a

    karenflower

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #11
    Actually, there is a way to have the cube effect, amongst others - You Control: Desktops. It seems to work alright with Leopard too (and spaces).
     
  12. soccersquirt82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #12
    Yes, Karenflower is right. You Control Desktops work well.
     

Share This Page