Spaces, anyone uses more than 4?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by LeandrodaFL, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. LeandrodaFL macrumors 6502a

    LeandrodaFL

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #1
    Anyone here uses more than 4 Spaces? why? how? wich applications do you have pre-set?

    I have...

    1-Firefox 2-itunes
    3-Skype 4-iMovie


    Im allways running these at the same time
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    I have 27 applications assigned to Spaces, but I only have 4 Spaces set up. My apps are organized into "families" of similar functions. I don't use them all at once, of course, but have "families" that I'll never be working with at the same time set to the same Space. A few of them I use so rarely that I should probably remove them from Spaces.
     
  3. Jason black macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  5. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
    #5
    It's a feature that allows you to create windows and assign apps to them so you can switch in between them easier.

    I have 6 spaces set-up.
     
  6. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #6
    Three.

    Space 1: Browsers and entertainment applications
    Space 2: Work-related applications
    Space 3: Xcode
     
  7. waynep macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #7
    I don't really use spaces. With only 4GB of RAM, I can't run too many things at once. Maybe some day I'll add some more RAM then I might be able to use them better.
     
  8. LeandrodaFL thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LeandrodaFL

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #8
    I used to run spaces with only 2GB without any issues. I have 4GB now. Feel free to get a 8GB upgrade, its $50 with shipping if Im not mistaken, and very easy to install.

    macsales.com

    ----------

    Perhaps is best if you see it in action, search for Spaces on youtube. Check Exposé and Dashboard too, if you also unfamiliar with them.
     
  9. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    I have my Macs set up for four spaces, but I use only three. I use them for tasks/projects, rather than specific apps, so I might have windows for the same app open in more than one space. Only rarely do I use the 4th space, and never more than 4.
     
  10. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I use 3 spaces. One for Chrome and iTunes (everyday apps). One for email, twitter, transmission etc and one for whatever project I'm working on at the time.
     

Share This Page